Moinard wins final stage as Contador stands firm overall

Alberto Contador, Alejandro Valverde and Luis Leon Sanchez on the podium, Paris-Nice 2010, stage seven

Alberto Contador survived the attacks on the final day to clinch the Paris-Nice title for the second time in his career.

The Spaniard, the 2007 Paris-Nice champion, has won both stage races he has started this season - having taken the victory at the Tour of the Algarve last month.

French rider Amaël Moinard of Cofidis won the final stage - and wrapped up the king of the mountains competition. Contador held firm, despite the fact Alejandro Valverde won the sprint for third place and trimmed his lead. There was a considerable amount of movement further down the overall classification, with Luis Leon Sanchez leapfrogging Roman Kreuziger to make it an all-Spanish top three, Peter Sagan, the revelation of the race slipped out of the top ten, as did Britain's David Millar.

It was a short, aggressive stage - just 119 kilometres, but with three first-category climbs. Early on, Sagan, the impressive 20-year-old Slovakian, won an intermediate sprint, taking a three-second time bonus that provisionally lifted him up to seventh overall.

The attackers tried their luck early on the Col de la Porte but Astana worked hard to bring everything back together for the race leader, Contador, who held a slender 14-second lead over Valverde (Caisse d'Epargne).

Moinard and Thomas Voeckler (BBOX Bouygues Telecom) attacked towards the top of the Col de la Porte and the bunch let them go. They quickly built a lead of a minute-and-a-half and by the time they reached the top of La Turbie, the second climb of the stage, the gap was almost three minutes.

They still held a good lead approaching the foot of the Col d'Eze, with 28 kilometres left, but the pace in the bunch was incredibly high and they were strung out in single file.

Voeckler attacked Moinard and got clear on his own but the Cofidis man dragged his way back up.

Contador was alert as the attacks came on the Col d'Eze and he marked Joaquin Rodriguez (Katusha) and Valverde and the trio looked as if they were going to catch Moinard and Voeckler. The reigning Tour de France champion also had a the rest gasping in his wake as he launched an attack of his own.

The chasers came very close to catching them on the descent and run-in but the two Frenchmen worked well together and opened up the sprint. Moinard took it and the chase group almost got them.

Valverde took the time bonus but it was not enough to unseat Contador. Rein Taaramae, the Estonian champion, moved up to eighth overall. Sagan was dropped on Col d'Eze and lost 2-48, but his lead in the points competition stood firm and he kept hold of the green jersey. That, and two stage wins, made it an excellent week, despite losing a top ten place on the final day.

David Millar also lost time - 59 seconds - and slipped from ninth to 13th. Team Sky's best rider overall was Aussie Simon Gerrans, who was 15th.


Stage seven: Nice - Nice, 119km

1. Amaël Moinard (Fra) Cofidis in 2hr 52min 09sec

2. Thomas Voecker (Fra) BBox Bouygues Telecom same time

3. Alejandro Valverde (Spa) Caisse d'Epargne at 3sec

4. Nicolas Roche (Irl) AG2R

5. Rein Taaramae (Est) Cofidis

6. Joaquin Rodriguez (Spa) Katusha

7. Jens Voigt (Ger) Saxo Bank

8. Chris Horner (USA) Radioshack

9. Janez Brajkovic (Slo) Radioshack

10. Alberto Contador (Spa) Astana all same time

23. David Millar (GB) Garmin-Transitions at 59sec

32. Geraint Thomas (GB) Team Sky at 1-43

72. Steve Cummings (GB) Team Sky at 2-48


1. Alberto Contador (Spa) Astana in 28hr 35min 35sec

2. Alejandro Valverde (Spa) Caisse d'Epargne at 11sec

3. Luis-Leon Sanchez (Spa) Caisse d'Epargne at 25sec

4. Roman Kreuziger (Cze) Liquigas at 26sec

5. Samuel Sanchez (Spa) Euskaltel-Euskadi at 30sec

6. Jens Voigt (Ger) Saxo Bank at 35sec

7. Joaquin Rodriguez (Spa) Katusha at 37sec

8. Rein Taaramae (Est) Cofidis at 1-07

9. Jean-Christophe Peraud (Fra) Omega Pharma-Lotto at 1-16

10. Jérôme Coppel (Fra) Saur-Sojasun at 1-17

11. Nicolas Roche (Irl) AG2R at 1-23

12. Janez Brajkovic (Slo) Radioshack at 1-57

13. David Millar (GB) Garmin-Transitions at 1-59

14. Sylvain Chavanel (Fra) Quick Step at 2-18

15. Simon Gerrans (Aus) Team Sky at 2-27

16. Frank Schleck (Lux) Saxo Bank at 3-02

17. Peter Sagan (Svk) Liquigas at 3-21

18. Cyril Gautier (Fra) BBOX Bouygues Telecom at 3-27

19. Thomas Voeckler (Fra) BBOX Bouygues Telecom at 3-28

20. Xavier Tondo (Spa) Cervélo at 3-33

71. Daniel Martin (Irl) Garmin-Transitions at 31-34

75. Steve Cummings (GB) Team Sky at 34-33

88. Geraint Thomas (GB) Team Sky at 47-58

Sylvain Chavanel attack, Paris-Nice 2010, stage seven

Sylvain Chavanel attacks

Alberto Contador, Joaquim Rodriguez and Alejandro Valverde, Paris-Nice 2010, stage seven

Alberto Contador leads Joaquim Rodriguez and Alejandro Valverde

Thomas Voeckler and Amael Moinard, Paris-Nice 2010, stage seven

Thomas Voeckler and Amaël Moinard forge ahead

Amael Moinard wins, Paris-Nice 2010, stage seven

Moinard takes the stage

Alberto Contador, Alejandro Valverde and Luis Leon Sanchez on the podium, Paris-Nice 2010, stage seven

Final podium: Luis Leon Sanchez (third), Alberto Contador (first) and Alejandro Valverde (second)

Paris-Nice 2010: Stage reports

Stage six: Tondo's heroics pay off

Stage five: Sagan does it again

Stage four: Contador too hot for rivals as Spanish dominate

Stage three: Sagan is the new kid on the block

Stage two: William Bonnet wins in Limoges after chaotic finish

Stage one: Sky's Henderson wins as wind splits bunch

Prologue: Boom beats the big names to win

Paris-Nice 2010: News, comment and analysis

Stage three shortened due to snow

Steegmans blown off bike during time trial

Paris-Nice 2010: The Big Preview

Paris-Nice 2010: Photo galleries

Stage five photo gallery by Graham Watson

Stage four photo gallery by Graham Watson

Stage three photo gallery by Graham Watson

Stage two photo gallery by Graham Watson

Stage one photo gallery by Graham Watson

Prologue photo gallery by Graham Watson


Cycling Weekly subscription thin

Thank you for reading 20 articles this month* Join now for unlimited access

Enjoy your first month for just £1 / $1 / €1

*Read 5 free articles per month without a subscription

Join now for unlimited access

Try first month for just £1 / $1 / €1

Founded in 1891, Cycling Weekly and its team of expert journalists brings cyclists in-depth reviews, extensive coverage of both professional and domestic racing, as well as fitness advice and 'brew a cuppa and put your feet up' features. Cycling Weekly serves its audience across a range of platforms, from good old-fashioned print to online journalism, and video.