Newton stamps authority on Premier Calendar with Beaumont win

Chris Newton extended his lead in the season-long Premier Calendar competition by winning the rain-swept Beaumont Trophy in the North East this afternoon (Sunday, June 13).

Newton (Rapha Condor Sharp) outsprinted Simon Richardson (Sigma Sport-Specialized) after the pair broke clear of a five man break on the final ascent of the short, viciously steep Ryals, which the 106-mile race climbed four times.

>> Subscribe to Cycling Weekly this Autumn and save 35%. Enjoy the luxury of home delivery and never miss an issue <<

Peter Williams of Motorpoint Marshalls Pasta finished third in the race held in damp, greasy conditions. He tried to bridge the gap on the shorter final circuit before the finish in Stamfordham, Northumberland, but came home more than a minute down on Newton.

The six-man break – containing Newton, Richardson, Williams, Graham Briggs (Rapha Condor Sharp), Evan Oliphant (Endura Racing) and 20 year-old Johnny McEvoy (Motorpoint Marshalls Pasta) escaped on the third lap of the race and built up a gap of over five minutes over the rest of the field, who gave up the concerted chase after the final climb of the Ryals.

Besides the overall, Newton also picked up the King of the Mountains competition and teammate Briggs won the Points competition.

Speaking afterwards, Newton said he felt a good result was there for the taking if he stayed out of trouble and near the front of the race.

He said: “Today didn’t feel overly arduous and I was in control a lot of the time so as long as I didn’t panic and stayed near the front a good result was on the cards.”

And so it proved. Richardson, fearing he would not be able to beat Newton in a sprint tried to break clear in the final kilometres but failed to jump clear on the run in.

The win means Newton, who also won the Lincoln GP and the Tour Doon Hame – both Premier Calendar events – is now a shoo-in to take the overall title with just two races left to run.

Despite the withdrawal of 11 riders down to start – notably Yanto Barker and three teammates on the Pendragon – Le Col – Colnago team, the race went ahead with a full field of one hundred riders.

Early casualties of the fast pace which strung the peloton out as soon as the flag came down included Endura Racing’s Ian Wilkinson, who climbed off after one lap, and Stephen Gallagher (Sigma Sport – Specialized).

Beaumont Trophy 2010
1. Chris Newton (Rapha Condor Sharp)

2. Simon Richardson (Sigma Sport-Specialized)
3. Peter Williams (Motorpoint Marshalls Pasta)
4. Johnny McEvoy (Motorpoint Marshalls Pasta)
5. Evan Oliphant (Endura Racing)
6. Graham Briggs (Rapha Condor Sharp)
7. Jack Bauer (Endura Racing)
8. Dan Craven (Endura Racing)
9. John Tanner (Team Sportscover)

Related links

British race calendar 2010: Results and reports