Newton takes Tour DoonHame opener


Rapha-Condor-Sharp rider Chris Newton has taken victory in the opening stage of the Tour Doon Hame, outsprinting fellow escapees Evan Oliphant (Endura Racing) and Wouter de Groot (Global Racing Team).

The flat stage around the Dumfriesshire countryside looked set for a bunch sprint finish before the trio clipped off the front late on and staved off the peloton's chase.

Thank you for reading 20 articles this month* Join now for unlimited access

Enjoy your first month for just £1 / $1 / €1

*Read 5 free articles per month without a subscription

Join now for unlimited access

Try first month for just £1 / $1 / €1

Founded in 1891, Cycling Weekly and its team of expert journalists brings cyclists in-depth reviews, extensive coverage of both professional and domestic racing, as well as fitness advice and 'brew a cuppa and put your feet up' features. Cycling Weekly serves its audience across a range of platforms, from good old-fashioned print to online journalism, and video.