Paul Oldham

Paul Oldham took victory in the opening round of the National Trophy Cyclo-Cross Series at Abergavenny Leisure Centre on Sunday, crossing the line 30 seconds clear of his nearest rival.

Oldham, the Hope Factory Racing man from Colne in Lancashire, was part of an eight rider break which worked well together for the opening few laps, but as they approached some stiles he upped the pace, and quickly established a lead which he was to maintain to the line.

Rival Dave Collins (Science in Sport) teamed up with Rob Jebb (Wheelbase) to chase down the leader, and they closed to within 30 seconds but could not catch Oldham, while Collins won the sprint for second by half a wheel after coming up the inside of Jebb on in the final metres.

Another Lancashire rider, 21-year-old Amy Hunt from Bolton, won the women?s race from Matlock CC junior Annie Last, while Rebecca Thompson (Evans Cycles RT) was third.

Yorkshire?s Scott Thwaites (Crosstrax) was fastest junior, holding off Rugby Velo youngster Ben Roach and Sandy Wallace Cycles? Sebastian Bachelor into second and third respectively.

See this week?s Cycling Weekly magazine for more on the National Trophy.

National Trophy Series (Round one, Abergavenny).-

1 Paul Oldham (Hope Factory Racing) 30km in 1-02-00

2 Dave Collins (Science in Sport) at 30sec

3 Rob Jebb (Wheelbase) same time

4 Jody Crawforth (Evans Cycles RT) at 44sec

5 Stuart Bowers (Hargroves Cycles) st

6 Steven Adams (Merlin Racing Team) at 52sec

Women.- Amy Hunt (unattached). Juniors.- Scott Thwaites (Crosstrax).

Thank you for reading 20 articles this month* Join now for unlimited access

Enjoy your first month for just £1 / $1 / €1

*Read 5 free articles per month without a subscription

Join now for unlimited access

Try first month for just £1 / $1 / €1