Tour Down Under logo

Stage four video highlights>>

It was another day for High Road to celebrate as André Greipel took his second stage of the Tour Down Under.

Despite a succession of breakaways and a blustery wind that made it difficult for the peloton to control the race, the sprint at the end of stage four in Strathalbyn was inevitable.

CSC and Caisse d?Epargne were two of the teams who tried to shatter the bunch in the first couple of hours of racing but the desire to bring it all back together was just too strong.

The breakaway artists have just tomorrow?s penultimate stage in which to upset the general classification or there is the likelihood this year?s Tour Down Under will result in six bunch finishes.

At least there is Willunga Hill to provide something of a springboard in the last 25 kilometres.

Otherwise the first event of the ProTour season will be decided on time bonuses ? it?s becoming a stage race version of Paris-Tours.

But it was not as easy a victory for Greipel as he enjoyed either at the Down Under Classic or a couple of days ago.

The German just about got past Mark Renshaw in the final metres before the line. The Australian preserved his slim overall lead.

But the big talking point was the crash in the final stages that saw Mathew Hayman of Rabobank dazed and confused on the tarmac 300 metres from the line.

Italian Elia Rigotto of Milram appeared to cause the crash as he moved his head sharply into Hayman's elbow as they sprinted for the line.

See the Rigotto crash here. The incident is towards the end of the video package.

Rigotto said the incident was unintentional and that his head hit Hayman's elbow as he looked up. He said he had tried to apologise to the Australian rider, who was taken to hospital with a suspected broken collarbone.

Swipe to scroll horizontally

1. André Greipel (Ger) Team High Road 3-14-46

2. Mark Renshaw (Aus) Crédit Agricole

3. Jose Joaquin Rojas Gil (Spa) Caisse d?Epargne

4. Matt Goss (Aus) CSC

5. Denis Flahaut (Fra) Saunier Duval

6. Allan Davis (Aus) Unisa-Australia

7. Graeme Brown (Aus) Rabobank

8. Stuart O?Grady (Aus) CSC

9. Davide Vigano (Ita) Quick Step

10. Jan Robert Forster (Ger) Gerolsteiner

41. Jeremy Hunt (GB) Crédit Agricole

Swipe to scroll horizontally

1. Mark Renshaw (Aus) Crédit Agricole 13-28-38

2. André Greipel (Ger) Team High Road at 4sec

3. Allan Davis (Aus) Unisa-Australia at 7sec

4. Jose Joaquin Rojas Gil (Spa) Caisse d?Epargne at 14sec

5. Graeme Brown (Aus) Rabobank same time

6. Mickael Delage (Fra) Française des Jeux at 18sec

7. Mickael Buffaz (Fra) Cofidis same time

8. Yoann Offredo (Fra) Française des Jeux at 19sec

9. Mathew Hayman (Aus) Rabobank at 20 sec

10. Kjell Carlstrom (Fin) Liquigas at 21 sec

59. Jeremy Hunt (GB) Crédit Agricole at 24 sec

Stage four video highlights>>

Thank you for reading 20 articles this month* Join now for unlimited access

Enjoy your first month for just £1 / $1 / €1

*Read 5 free articles per month without a subscription

Join now for unlimited access

Try first month for just £1 / $1 / €1