Philippe Gilbert ends rainbow curse with Vuelta stage 12 win

Philippe Gilbert wins Vuelta a Espana 2013 stage 12

World champion Philippe Gilbert (BMC) finally got his hands on his first victory in the rainbow jersey with a well-timed sprint finish on stage 12 of the Vuelta a Espana. 

The Belgian, whose time in the stripes is coming close to its end, overhauled an early sprint from Edvald Boasson Hagen (Sky) at the end of a fast, twisty and technical uphill finish in Tarragona. 

With an extended 'safe zone' of 5km due to the technical nature of the finish, there were no changes in the top ten of the overall classificationand Vincenzo Nibali (Astana) kept hold of his red jersey for another day. 

Sprint surprise

On one of this year's Vuelta's rare sprint days, the break of Romain Zingle (Cofidis), Fabricio Ferrari (Caja Rural) and Cedric Pineau (FDJ) had little chance of success. Predictably, having established a lead of over four minutes on the rolling ride to Tarragona, they were caught with just over 18km to go. 

After his stage six heroics, Tony Martin (Omega Pharma-Quickstep) took off on his own with 13km to race but the peloton were having none of it and shut down his move a couple of kilometres later.

Under pressure from Astana, Orica-GreenEdge and Argos-Shimano, the bunch was substantially thinned on the run in to the line.

Nevertheless Gilbert found his perfect position through the backstreets and road furniture to ensure that he wouldn't become another victim of the 'curse of the rainbow jersey.' 


Vuelta a Espana 2013, stage 12: Maella to Tarragona, 164km

1. Philippe Gilbert (BMC) in 4-03-44

2. Edvald Boasson Hagen (Sky)

3. Maximilliano Ariel Richeze (Lampre-Merida)

4. Luca Paolini (Katusha)

5. Gianni Meersman (Omega Pharma-Quickstep)

6. Franceso Lasca (Caja Rural)

7. Steve Chainel (Ag2r-La Mondiale)

8. Reinardt Janse Van Rensburg (Argos-Shimano)

9. Anthony Roux (FDJ)

10. Zakkari Dempster (NetApp-Endura) all at s.t.

Overall classification after stage 12

1. Vincenzo Nibali (Ita) Astana in 45-26-06

2. Nicolas Roche (Irl) Saxo-Tinkoff at 0-31

3. Alejandro Valverde (Spa) Movistar at 0-46

4. Chris Horner (USA) RadioShack-Leopard at st

5. Joaquim Rodriguez (Spa) Katusha at 2-33

6. Domenico Pozzovivo (Ita) Ag2r-La Mondiale at 2-44

7. Ivan Basso (Ita) Cannondale at 2-55

8. Thibaut Pinot (Fra) FDJ at 3-35

9. Rafal Majka (Pol) Saxo-Tinkoff at 3-46

10. Daniel Moreno (Spa) Katusha at 3-56

Vuelta a Espana 2013: Stage reports

Stage 11: Cancellara wins time trial, Nibali regains red

Stage 10: Horner wins stage and regains race lead

Stage nine: Moreno wins stage to take race lead

Stage eight: Konig wins, Roche takes lead

Stage seven: Stybar wins from escape

Stage six: Morkov wins after Martin's day-long escape

Stage five: Matthews wins in Lago de Sanabria

Stage four: Moreno wins tough stage

Stage three: Horner takes charge with stage win and overall lead

Stage two: Nicolas Roche attacks to win

Stage one: Astana takes opening team time trial

Vuelta a Espana 2013: Photo galleries

Stage 12 photo gallery

Stage 11 photo gallery

Stage 10 photo gallery

Stage nine photo gallery

Stage eight photo gallery

Stage seven photo gallery

Stage six photo gallery

Stage five photo gallery

Stage four photo gallery

Stage three photo gallery

Stage two photo gallery

Stage one photo gallery


Thank you for reading 20 articles this month* Join now for unlimited access

Enjoy your first month for just £1 / $1 / €1

*Read 5 free articles per month without a subscription

Join now for unlimited access

Try first month for just £1 / $1 / €1