British time trial round-up: Dowsett wins North Hants 25

Winning by more than three and a half minutes, Sky pro Cycling ace Alex Dowsett took victory in the North Hampshire Road Club 25-mile event at Bentley on Saturday.

The 22-year-old from Essex clocked 47-28 to win the event comfortably from Team Feat’s James Gilfillan, the 32-year-old Dorset rider whose time of 51-09 was 3-41 slower than Dowsett.

>> Save up to 31% with a magazine subscription. Enjoy the luxury of home delivery and never miss an issue <<

Prolific time trial winner, UTAG’s Julian Jenkinson, had to settle for third spot, the 44-year-old from Southampton clocking 51-45.

Reasonable weather continued throughout the weekend, including the Blenheim Palace TTs which covered 20km and formed part of a weekend of events at the Oxfordshire venue.

In Gear-Quickvit rider Michael Hutchinson had to be on top form to take the win, the 37-year-old clocking 26-08 but only winning by 11 seconds from I Ride Racing Team’s Matthew Bottrill, the 34-year-old who is leading the Rudy Project National Series.

While his team-mate at I Ride RT Scott Povey took third, fastest woman was Sarah Storey (Horizon Fitness RT) whose time of 28-29 gave her overall fourth spot.

After setting a new personal best at the age of 41 just two weeks ago, Doncaster’s Kevin Dawson put his current form to good use when he won the South Elmsall SCC 10-mile event on Saturday.

Dawson clocked 19-25 to win the event at Ranby, Nottinghamshire, by 17 seconds from I Ride Racing Team rival Richard Bradley.

There were also fast times in Suffolk in the Team Pedal 10 at Tuddenham St Mary, although the rolling course meant that sub 20-minute times were not quite possible.

The organiser Nino Piccoli was fastest and came very close to breaking 20 minutes, settling for 20-05, while RAF CA rider Dave Green was second with 20-50.

Over on the other side of the country it was the Welsh 10-mile Championships, promoted by Pontypool RCC and using the R10/17 course which took the riders from Hardwick to Raglan on the A40 near Abergavenny.

Bynea CC’s Keiron Davies took the crown for 2011 with his time of 19-49, which was 13 seconds ahead of RAF CA’s Justyn Cannon, while Gruffudd Lewis of Team UK Youth completed the podium with 20-03 for third.

Fastest of the women was Olympian Rebecca Romero (Port Sunlight Wheelers). She won by 37 seconds with a time of 22-38, but when you consider that she was late for her start time by 1-08, her actual time of 21-30 was even more impressive.

The junior title went to 16-year-old Scott Davies (Towy RCC) who clocked 21-24 to beat many older rivals.

Securing his second consecutive win in the event, Rupert Burbidge (Redhill CC) won the Epsom CC 10 at Horsham in West Sussex on Saturday. He was 10 seconds quicker than Conall Yates (In Gear RT).

North of the border, Dooley’s Cycles rider James Millar took victory in the Ross-shire Roads CC helpers 25 near Garve in Scotland on Saturday.

A strong headwind out blew the riders back, but Millar seemed impervious to the gusts and clocked an impressive 55-38 for the course to Achnasheen and back.

He was almost two minutes quicker than second-placed Paul Rodden (Moray Firth CC), while fastest woman was Anne Murray (Square Wheels) who clocked 1-04-59.

Related links

Cycling Weekly’s Time Trial News section

Parker International banner