Hutch versus Wiggo – the National 10 showdown

Michael Hutchinson (In-Gear Quickvit Trainsharp RT) has Team Sky’s Bradley Wiggins standing between himself and a ninth National 10 title when they meet in Crathorne, Yorkshire on Saturday afternoon.

Bradley Wiggins versus Michael Hutchinson time trial

>> Struggling to get to the shops? Try 6 issues of Cycling Weekly magazine for just £6 delivered to your door <<

Hutchinson has been victorious for the past six years, and has already come close his 10 record this season.

Wiggins has maintained a low profile throughout 2011, bar his podium finish in Paris-Nice, and has recently been training in Tenerife as he prepares for the Tour.

Although he hasn’t ridden a 10 since 2009, he is able to enter the T102-based race because of a rule that allows a rider who placed on the podium in the National Time Trial Championships – he won it last year – to enter both Saturday’s race and the 25, which seems unlikely.

Speaking to Cycling Weekly in January, Wiggins said: “It’s a good day out, it’s very relaxed.

“Going to Tescos and getting some flapjacks, pumping your own tyres up, that’s what it’s all about.

“I got so pushed away from all that stuff, by myself (last year),” he added.

How do they compare?
Last July, Hutchinson recorded a 17-57, slicing one second off Wiggins’ fastest-ever 10 time that he set back in 2006.

Michael Hutchinson wins, National 10-mile time trial 2010

Hutch unstoppable during the 2010 National 10

The showdown between the pair at the BTTC never materialised, with Wiggo beating Hutch by over two minutes.

Cycling Weekly’s friend-lacking stats department have compiled a list of their performances from 2011 so far, and have listed them below.

Wiggins 2011 TT results

Race Distance (m)
Time Average speed (mph)
Tour of Romandy 12.5 28-15 26.5
Tour of Romandy 1.8 3-52 27.9
Critérium International 4.3 8-51 29.2
Paris-Nice 16.7 33-44 29.7
Tour of Qatar 1.6 3-20 28.8

Hutchinson 2011 TT results

Race Distance (m)
Time Average speed (mph)
Farnham RC 10 19-03 31.4
Ogmore Valley 25 48-15 31.1
City RC 10 18-04 33.2
ACME Wheelers 25 47-00 31.9
Hull RC 10 18-07 33.1

Bradley Wiggins, winner, British time trial national championships 2010

Wiggins on the way to the BTTC title, 2010

Wiggins’ last TT was in the Tour of Romandy; he recorded his slowest TT of the year but the rolling course and unfavourable wind should be considered.

Other challengers
Also worth mentioning is Matt Bottrill (, the current Rudy Project National Series leader.

His times over distance have been competitive, but Bottrill has not ridden a 10 for some weeks.

Bottrill 2011 TT results

Race Distance (m)
Time Average speed (mph)
Bill Spencer Memorial 25 50-39 29.6
Doncaster Wheelers 26.5 55-00 28.9
Longor Good Friday 33 1-22-29 24.0
Bassenthwaite Lake 31.2 1-03-58 29.3
Essex 25.5 53-42 28.9

Stu Dodd won the recent Bath CC 10, and while not an official entrant, clocked an impressive 18-59 at the Chippenham and District Wheelers 10 last Sunday.

Team rider Andy Bason sets off one minute before Wiggins, and has an 18-39 to his name this year.

Women and juniors
Julia Shaw ( is defending her women’s title, having won the race since 2007.

She has several quick times to her name this year, including a 29-40 in the Doncaster TT a few weeks ago, but last year’s runner-up Sarah Storey will be looking to make amends for her 27-second defeat twelve months ago.

Julia Shaw

Shaw looks to be the woman to beat once again

Storey’s Horizon Fitness team-mates Jo Roswell – who posted a 21-51 at the Farnham RT 10 earlier this month – and world team pursuit champion Dani King will also be on the startline.

Laura Trott (100% ME) won last year’s junior women’s crown, and is stepping up to the women’s category but last year’s junior men’s champion Oliver Rossi (PCA Ciclos Uno) will be looking at taking back-to-back titles.

Related links
Hutchinson blasts to National 10 win
British TT round-up: May 8 2011
British TT round-up: May 1 2011
British TT round-up: April 24 2011

British TT round-up: April 17 2011
British TT round-up: April 11 2011
British TT round-up: April 4 2011
British TT round-up: March 27 2011