Kenny not Hoy selected for London 2012 Olympic sprint

Jason Kenny, London Track World Cup 2012, day four

Jason Kenny has been selected ahead of Sir Chris Hoy to contest the track sprint at the London 2012 Olympic Games.

With only one place available per nation for the individual sprint, a tough call had to be made for the final selection - with Kenny given the nod ahead of 2008 Olympic sprint champion Hoy. It means that Hoy will not be able to match his three gold medals from the Beijing Games: sprint, team sprint and keirin.

Thank you for reading 20 articles this month* Join now for unlimited access

Enjoy your first month for just £1 / $1 / €1

*Read 5 free articles per month without a subscription

Join now for unlimited access

Try first month for just £1 / $1 / €1

Nigel Wynn
Former Associate Editor

Nigel Wynn worked as associate editor on, he worked almost single-handedly on the Cycling Weekly website in its early days. His passion for cycling, his writing and his creativity, as well as his hard work and dedication, were the original driving force behind the website’s success. Without him, would certainly not exist on the size and scale that it enjoys today. Nigel sadly passed away, following a brave battle with a cancer-related illness, in 2018. He was a highly valued colleague, and more importantly, an exceptional person to work with - his presence is sorely missed.