Jason Kenny and Callum Skinner set up all-British final in men's sprint in Rio

Near-perfect performances from Callum Skinner and Jason Kenny see the two British riders ride against each other for men's sprint gold at the Rio 2016 Olympic Games

Jason Kenny beat Russian Denis Dmitriev in the semi-finals of the men's sprint in Rio
(Image credit: Graham Watson)

Jason Kenny and Callum Skinner continued their domination of the men's sprint discipline at the Rio 2016 Olympic Games by winning their semi-final heats to go through to face each other in an all-British final.

It means that one of the riders will claim gold, and the other silver for GB to add to the team sprint gold that Kenny and Skinner won alongside Philip Hindes on Thursday.

Skinner continues to be a revelation at Rio, racing with pace and tactical nous that means he has not lost a single race so far. The 23-year-old Scotsman dispensed Australia's Matthew Glaetzer in two races in the semi-finals.

Callum Skinner (GBR) completes a 2-0 win over Matthew Glaetzer (AUS) in the semi final of the 2016 Olympic sprint (Watson)

Callum Skinner (GBR) completes a 2-0 win over Matthew Glaetzer (AUS) in the semi final of the 2016 Olympic sprint (Watson)
(Image credit: Watson)

World champion and defending Olympic champion Kenny has only one minor blot of his near-perfect record too – having lost one of his three semi-final races against Denis Dmitriev (Russia). Kenny also set a new Olympic Record in the 200-metre qualifying round, beating the mark set just moments earlier by his team-mate.

Dmitriev will ride against Glaetzer for the bronze medal. The gold and bronze finals of the men's sprint will take place on Sunday.


Rio 2016 Olympic Games, men's sprint semi-finals


Winners will race for gold/silver; losers will race for bronze

Jason Kenny (GBR) bt Denis Dmitriev (RUS) 2 - 1

Callum Skinner (GBR) bt Matthew Glaetzer (AUS) 2 - 0

Finals for 5-12

5. Joachim Eilers (GER)

6. Xu Chao (CHN)

7. Gregory Bauge (FRA)

8. Patrick Constable (AUS)

9. Maximilian Levy (GER)

10. Fabian Hernando Puerta Zapata (COL)

11. Jeffrey Hoogland (NED)

12. Sam Webster (NZL)


Jason Kenny (GBR) bt Patrick Constable (AUS) 2 - 0

Callum Skinner (GBR) bt Chao Xu (CHN) 2 - 0

Matthew Glaetzer (AUS) bt Joachim Eilers (GER) 2 - 0

Denis Dmitriev (RUS) bt Gregory Bauge (FRA) 2 - 0

Thank you for reading 10 articles this month* Join now for unlimited access

Enjoy your first month for just £1 / $1 / €1

*Read 5 free articles per month without a subscription

Join now for unlimited access

Try first month for just £1 / $1 / €1

Nigel Wynn
Former Associate Editor

Nigel Wynn worked as associate editor on CyclingWeekly.com, he worked almost single-handedly on the Cycling Weekly website in its early days. His passion for cycling, his writing and his creativity, as well as his hard work and dedication, were the original driving force behind the website’s success. Without him, CyclingWeekly.com would certainly not exist on the size and scale that it enjoys today. Nigel sadly passed away, following a brave battle with a cancer-related illness, in 2018. He was a highly valued colleague, and more importantly, n exceptional person to work with - his presence is sorely missed.