Race organisers reveal wildcard team selections for 2018 Tour de France

ASO also announce wildcard selections for Paris-Nice and the Critérium du Dauphiné

Yoann Offredo and Elie Gesbert in the breakaway of stage 10 of the 2017 Tour de France

(Image credit: Yuzuru Sunada)

Tour de France organisers have announced the teams that will compete in the 2018 edition of the race, with French teams filling three of the four wildcard spots.

Taking their places alongside the 18 WorldTour teams, who are automatically given spots in all WorldTour races, will be the Cofidis, Direct Energie, Fortuneo-Samsic, and Wanty-Groupe Gobert professional continental-level teams, the same four wildcard teams that competed in the 2017 race.

Thank you for reading 20 articles this month* Join now for unlimited access

Enjoy your first month for just £1 / $1 / €1

*Read 5 free articles per month without a subscription

Join now for unlimited access

Try first month for just £1 / $1 / €1