Where: France

When: March 6-13 2022

Rank: UCI WorldTour

Paris-Nice Schachmann

(Image credit: Getty Images)

Paris-Nice enters its 80th edition in 2022, and the UCI WorldTour event is expected to boast a star studded list of general classification leaders.

The eight stage event, often referred to as the 'Race to the Sun', typically opens in wintry conditions near Paris before concluding in the warmer, Mediterranean city of Nice.

Hilly parcours mean the favourites are usually climbers, and recent victors include two-time winner Max Schachmann, 2019 Tour de France winner Egan Bernal, 2018's Tour de France winner Geraint Thomas as well as Bradley Wiggins, Richie Porte and Alberto Contador.

Going further into the history books, other winners include the likes of Jacques Anquetil and Eddy Merckx, whist Sean Kelly claims the most win with seven, in the 1980s.

Paris-Nice is organised by ASO, the same outfit behind the likes of the Tour de France and Paris-Roubaix.

The 2020 event was the last international cycling event, and the last sporting event in France, before mass gatherings were cancelled due to Covid-19. 

Paris-Nice 2022 stages

The route for the 2022 Paris-Nice hasn't been announced yet.

Paris-Nice: Recent winners

2021: Max Schachmann (Ger)
2020: Max Schachmann (Ger)
2019: Egan Bernal (Col)
2018: Marc Soler (Esp)
2017: Sergio Henao (Col)
2016: Geraint Thomas (GBr)
2015: Richie Porte (Aus)
2014: Carlos Betancur (Col)
2013: Richie Porte (Aus)
2012: Bradley Wiggins (GBr)
2011: Tony Martin (Ger)
2010: Alberto Contador (Spa)
2009: Luis Leon Sanchez (Spa)
2008: Davide Rebellin (Ita)
2007: Alberto Contador (Ita)
2006: Floyd Landis (USA)

Key info: Paris-Nice route | Paris-Nice start list | TV guide

Website: Paris-Nice