Team Sky take Elia Viviani to Tour of Slovenia for sprint battle with Mark Cavendish

Sprinters and Olympic omnium hopefuls Elia Viviani and Mark Cavendish set to clash at the 2016 Tour of Slovenia this week

Elia Viviani wins stage two of the 2016 Three Days of De Panne

(Image credit: Watson)

British WorldTour outfit Team Sky has unveiled its line-up for the 2016 Tour of Slovenia, which starts on Thursday (June 16).

Italian Elia Viviani will spearhead Sky's assault on the four-day race's two flat stages: one and four. He will come up against British sprinter Mark Cavendish (Dimension Data) in a key event prior to the Tour de France in July. Viviani and Cavendish are also set to contest the omnium event on the track at the 2016 Olympic Games in Rio.

Thank you for reading 20 articles this month* Join now for unlimited access

Enjoy your first month for just £1 / $1 / €1

*Read 5 free articles per month without a subscription

Join now for unlimited access

Try first month for just £1 / $1 / €1

Nigel Wynn
Former Associate Editor

Nigel Wynn worked as associate editor on, he worked almost single-handedly on the Cycling Weekly website in its early days. His passion for cycling, his writing and his creativity, as well as his hard work and dedication, were the original driving force behind the website’s success. Without him, would certainly not exist on the size and scale that it enjoys today. Nigel sadly passed away, following a brave battle with a cancer-related illness, in 2018. He was a highly valued colleague, and more importantly, an exceptional person to work with - his presence is sorely missed.