Full list of 2016 Tour of Britain teams announced

British teams Madison Genesis, JLT Condor and NFTO confirmed for the 2016 edition of the Tour of Britain on September 4-11

Stage six, 2015 Tour of Britain
(Image credit: Andy Jones)

The final teams have now been announced for the 2016 Tour of Britain, bringing the total number of squads participating in the race to 20.

British teams Madison Genesis, NFTO and JLT Condor will join 10 WorldTour teams, and a selection of international and national squads for the 13th edition of the event. British squad Team Wiggins had previously been confirmed as taking part.

A decision on the final British squads lining up for the ToB was not made until after their performances were noted during the Prudential RideLondon-Surrey Classic on Sunday.

The WorldTour teams taking part comprise BMC, Sky, Movistar, Dimension Data, Cannondale-Drapac, Lotto-Soudal, Orica-BikeExchange, Giant-Alpecin, LottoNL-Jumbo and Trek-Segafredo.

Seven British teams will take part in total.

The 2016 race commences in Glasgow on Sunday, September 4 and makes its way south for a finale in London on Sunday, September 11.

Last year's race was won by Edvald Boasson Hagen (Dimension Data), who became the first rider to win the race twice (he also won in 2009) since the event was relaunched in 2004.

>>> Tour of Britain 2016 route: stage by stage

Tour of Britain 2016 teams

An Post Chain Reaction (Ireland)

Bardiani CSF (Italy)

BMC Racing Team (USA)

Cannondale-Drapac Pro Cycling Team (USA)

Caja Rural-Seguros RGA (Spain)

Great Britain national team (Great Britain)

JLT Condor presented by Mavic (Great Britain)

Lotto-Soudal (Belgium)

One Pro Cycling (Great Britain)

Orica-BikeExchange (Australia)

Madison Genesis (Great Britain)

Movistar (Spain)

NFTO (Great Britain)

Team Dimension Data (RSA)

Team Giant-Alpecin (Germany)

Team LottoNL-Jumbo (Netherlands)

Team Sky (Great Britain)

Team Wiggins (Great Britain)

Trek-Segafredo (USA)

Wanty-Groupe Gobert (Belgium)

Thank you for reading 20 articles this month* Join now for unlimited access

Enjoy your first month for just £1 / $1 / €1

*Read 5 free articles per month without a subscription

Join now for unlimited access

Try first month for just £1 / $1 / €1

Nigel Wynn
Former Associate Editor

Nigel Wynn worked as associate editor on CyclingWeekly.com, he worked almost single-handedly on the Cycling Weekly website in its early days. His passion for cycling, his writing and his creativity, as well as his hard work and dedication, were the original driving force behind the website’s success. Without him, CyclingWeekly.com would certainly not exist on the size and scale that it enjoys today. Nigel sadly passed away, following a brave battle with a cancer-related illness, in 2018. He was a highly valued colleague, and more importantly, an exceptional person to work with - his presence is sorely missed.