Thwaites makes it two out of two for Endura at Doon Hame

Scott Thwaites wins, Tour DoonHame 2012, stage two

Scott Thwaites made it two out of two for Endura Racing in the Tour DoonHame this evening, as he blasted to victory in stage two's 16.5-mile crit around Girvan.

2011 Lincoln GP winner Thwaites had earlier showed his speed in the Hot Spot Sprints primes - notably also sponsored by Endura - and had the edge in the finale over Chris Opie (UK Youth) and Dan Holloway (Raleigh), who completed the podium.

Despite the inclement weather which only improved after the race finished, the peloton largely stayed intact throughout. Wouter Sybrandy (IG-Sigma Sport) launched the only notable attack of the race, but never looked like staying clear.

Defending the yellow jersey of stage one leader Erick Rowsell, Endura marshalled the peloton throughout, and a brilliant lead-out from Ian Wilkinson gave Thwaites the perfect springboard from which he sprinted to the win.

Rowsell still leads the overall, although he loses the Endura Hot Spot Sprints jersey to Thwaites, with a third Endura rider - Alex Wetterhall - topping the J&B Print Ltd King of the Mountains classification.


Tour DoonHame 2012 stage two: Girvan criterium, 16.5 miles

1. Scott Thwaites (Endura Racing) in 39-40

2. Chris Opie (UK Youth)

3. Daniel Holloway (Raleigh-GAC)

4. Jonny McEvoy (Endura Racing)

5. Erick Rowsell (Endura Racing)

6. Dean Downing (Rapha-Condor-Sharp)

7. Bernie Sulzberger (Raleigh-GAC)

8. Matt Cronshaw (Node4-Giordana)

9. Tom Barras (Metaltek-Scott)

10. Richard Lang (Rapha-Condor-Sharp) all at st.

General classification after stage two

1. Erick Rowsell (Endura Racing) in 3-47-40

2. Mike Northey (Node4-Giordana) at 11 sec

3. Richard Handley (Rapha-Condor-Sharp) at 12 sec

4. Scott Thwaites (Endura Racing) at 14 sec

5. Chris Opie (UK Youth) at 21 sec

6. Bernie Sulzberger (Raleigh-GAC) at 27 sec

7. Jonny McEvoy (Endura Racing) at 29 sec

8. Matt Cronshaw (Node4-Giordana)

9. Ben Grenda (Rapha-Condor-Sharp)

10. Marcin Bialoblocki (Node4-Giordana) all at st.

Endura Hot Spot Sprints classification after stage two

1. Scott Thwaites (Endura Racing)

J&B Print Ltd King of the Mountains classification after stage two

1. Alex Wetterhall (Endura Racing)

Related links

Tour DoonHame 2012 stage two photo gallery

Rowsell takes DoonHame opener

Premier Calendar 2012: Cycling Weekly's coverage index

Tour DoonHame 2012: The Big Preview

Super Team Challenge: Standings

Thank you for reading 20 articles this month* Join now for unlimited access

Enjoy your first month for just £1 / $1 / €1

*Read 5 free articles per month without a subscription

Join now for unlimited access

Try first month for just £1 / $1 / €1