Tour de France organiser announces details of 2012 Liege start

Tour de France logo

Tour de France race director Christian Prudhomme signed an agreement today with local Belgian officials to start the 2012 race in Liège and revealed the details of the first stages.

The race will begin on Saturday, June 30 with a prologue on the same flat course that opened the race eight years prior, in 2004. Swiss Fabian Cancellara won the 6.1-kilometre time trial with an average time speed of just over 53 kilometres an hour, two seconds ahead of Lance Armstrong.

Thank you for reading 20 articles this month* Join now for unlimited access

Enjoy your first month for just £1 / $1 / €1

*Read 5 free articles per month without a subscription

Join now for unlimited access

Try first month for just £1 / $1 / €1

Gregor Brown

Gregor Brown is an experienced cycling journalist, based in Florence, Italy. He has covered races all over the world for over a decade - following the Giro, Tour de France, and every major race since 2006. His love of cycling began with freestyle and BMX, before the 1998 Tour de France led him to a deep appreciation of the road racing season.