Tour Series 2011: Cycling Weekly's coverage index

Tour Series 2011 logo

Welcome to Cycling Weekly's coverage of the Tour Series 2011, which kicked off in Durham on Tuesday, May 24.

This page serves as a hub for all of our coverage of the 2011 event, from reports and exclusive rider blogs; from latest news to photo galleries from top cycling photographer Andy Jones.

Tour Series 2011: Race Introduction

Unlike the majority of other races, the Tour Series is primarily a team-based event, with the squad who has the lowest culmulative score for their first three riders across the line winning each round.

Individual glory is still on offer, and as such each race is battled out to the death, but the Tour Series requires even more teamwork and arguably greater tactical prowess than other events on the domestic calendar.

Consistency is also needed to take the overall victory; Rapha-Condor-Sharp have consistently taken individual and round victories, yet have never scored highly at all ten rounds.

Motorpoint won last year's Tour Series, with the inaugural title going to Halfords BikeHut.


Motorpoint win overall, Tour Series 2010 round 10 Woking

Motorpoint-Marshalls Pasta, 2010 Tour Series winners

Tour Series 2011: Rounds

Swipe to scroll horizontally
OneTuesday, May 24DurhamRapha-Condor-Sharp>>>>>
TwoThursday, May 26AberystwythRapha-Condor-Sharp>>>>>
ThreeTuesday, May 31Peterborough*Rapha-Condor-Sharp>>>>>
FourThursday, June 2ColchesterRapha-Condor-Sharp 
FiveTuesday, June 7Stoke-on-Trent*Rapha-Condor-Sharp


SixThursday, June 9Oldham*Endura Racing


SevenTuesday, June 14Woking*Endura Racing

EightThursday, June 16Canary WharfMotorpoint


(* Features a round of the Women's Tour Series)

Tour Series 2011: Rider blogs

Round one, Durham: Ian Wilkinson (Endura Racing)

Round two, Aberystwyth: Andy Tennant (Rapha-Condor-Sharp)

Round three, Peterborough: Simon Wilson (Cycle Premier-Metaltek)

Round four, Colchester: Steve Lampier (Sigma Sport-Specialized)

Round five, Stoke-on-Trent: Jeroen Janssen (Team Raleigh)

Round six, Oldham: James Stewart (Team UK Youth)

Round seven, Woking: Chris Opie (Pendragon-Le Col-Colnago)

Round eight, Canary Wharf: Pete Williams (Motorpoint Pro Cycling)

Tour Series 2011: TV Coverage

ITV4 will once again be showing hour-long highlights of each round 24 hours after they take place.

Presented by Ned Boulting, viewers won't miss a second of the important action, and will also see highlights of the Women's GP Series, which will be held before the men's race at Peterborough, Stoke-on-Trent, Oldham and Woking.

Tour Series 2011, round one, Durham

ITV4 is available on Freeview (Channel 24), Freesat (Channel 117), Sky (Channel 120), Virgin Media (Channel 118) and online via

The broadcaster's on-demand service ITV Player service will also have the coverage available to watch online at a later date.

TV Schedule

Swipe to scroll horizontally
RoundRace dateLocationHighlights broadcast dateHighlights repeat date
OneTuesday, May 24Durham8pm, Wednesday, May 2511am, Thursday, May 26
TwoThursday, May 26Aberystwyth8pm, Friday, May 279.50am, Saturday, May 28
ThreeTuesday, May 31Peterborough8pm, Wednesday, June 110.45am, Thursday, June 2
FourThursday, June 2Colchester8pm, Friday, June 39.40am, Saturday, June 4
FiveTuesday, June 7Stoke-on-Trent8pm, Wednesday, June 811am, Thursday, June 9
SixThursday, June 9Oldham8pm, Friday, June 1011am, Saturday, June 11
SevenTuesday, June 14Woking8pm, Wednesday, June 1510.40am, Thursday, June 16
EightThursday, June 16Canary Wharf8pm, Friday, June 179.40am, Saturday, June 18

Tour Series 2011: Related links

Tour Series announces venues

Tour Series team announced

Gaywood gutted at Tour Series omission

Women's Tour Series launched

Motorpoint looking to set things right in Tour Series week two

Tour Series 2011 round three photo gallery

Endura and Motorpoint vow to hit Rapha back at Tour Series

Herety: All to play for in the Tour Series

Garner not getting carried away before Women's Tour Series finale

Wyman wins Women's Tour Series

Tour Series 2011: Last year's reports

Round one, Canary Wharf: First blood to Rapha in Tour Series round one

Round two, Durham: Elliott wins Tour Series round in Durham

Round three, Portsmouth: Bibby leads Motorpoint into Tour Series lead

Round four, Exeter: Rapha return to winning ways in Exeter

Round five, Southport: Blain wins Tour Series round five

Round six, Kettering: Kristian House helps Rapha-Condor-Sharp dominate Tour Series in Kettering

Round seven, Peterborough: Rapha dominates Peterborough Tour Series to take overall lead

Round eight, Stoke-on-Trent: Bibby takes second Tour Series victory

Round nine, Chester: Jack Bauer and Endura power to victory in Chester Tour Series round

Round ten, Woking: Motorpoint seals 2010 Tour Series Victory

Tour Series 2011: Miscellaneous

Halfords-BikeHut win Tour Series on final night

Thank you for reading 20 articles this month* Join now for unlimited access

Enjoy your first month for just £1 / $1 / €1

*Read 5 free articles per month without a subscription

Join now for unlimited access

Try first month for just £1 / $1 / €1