Vuelta a Espana 2011: Cycling Weekly’s coverage index

The 2011 Vuelta a Espana starts on Saturday, August 20, with a team time trial around Benidorm and concludes three weeks later in Madrid on Sunday, September 11.

We will be covering the race in full, with daily stage reports, photo galleries from CW’s Graham Watson, rider interviews, post-stage analysis and more.

All of our articles will be linked from this page, making it easy for you to keep track of everything that is happening in this year’s Vuelta a Espana.

Keep checking back for the very latest updates.

Vuelta a Espana 2011: Stages, reports and photos

Stage Date From To Length Report Photos
Stage 1 Sat, Aug 20 Benidorm Benidorm 13.5km TTT Report>> Photos>>

Stage 2 Sun, Aug 21 La Nucía Playas de Orihuela 174km Report>>


Stage 3 Mon, Aug 22 Petrer Totana 163km Report>>


Stage 4 Tues, Aug 23 Baza Sierra Nevada 170.2km Report>>

Stage 5 Weds, Aug 24 Sierra Nevada Valdepeñas de Jaén 187km Report>>


Stage 6 Thurs, Aug 25 Úbeda Córdoba 193.4km Report>>


Stage 7 Fri, Aug 26 Almadén Talavera de la Reina 182.9km Report>>


Stage 8 Sat, Aug 27 Talavera de la Reina San Lorenzo de El Escorial 177.3km Report>>


Stage 9 Sun, Aug 28 Villacastín Sierra de Bejar. La Covatilla 183km Report>>


Stage 10 Mon, Aug 29 Salamanca Salamanca 47km ITT Report>>

REST DAY Tues, Aug 30
Stage 11 Weds, Aug 31 Verín Estación de Esquí Alto de la Manzaneda 167km Report>>


Stage 12 Thurs, Sept 1 Ponteareas Pontevedra 167.3km Report>>

Stage 13 Fri, Sept 2 Sarria Ponferrada 158.2km Report>>


Stage 14 Sat, Sept 3 Astorga La Farrapona. Lagos de Somiedo 175.8km Report>>

Stage 15 Sun, Sept 4 Avilés Anglirú 142.2km Report>>


REST DAY Mon, Sept 5
Stage 16 Tues, Sept 6 Villa Romana La Olmeda (Palencia) Haro 203.6km Report>>


Stage 17 Weds, Sept 7 Faustino V Peña Cabarga 211km Report>>


Stage 18 Thurs, Sept 8 Solares Noja 174.6km Report>>


Stage 19 Fri, Sept 9 Noja Bilbao 158.5km Report>>


Stage 20 Sat, Sept 10 Bilbao Vitoria 185km Report>>


Stage 21 Sun, Sept 11 Circuito del Jarama Madrid 95.6km Report>>


Vuelta a Espana 2011 map

Click on map to enlarge in new window

Vuelta a Espana 2011: Latest news

Froome plays it safe on Vuelta’s final day to claim second overall

Froome refuses to throw in towel after Vuelta’s Bilbao stage

Cobo: Sky will attack in Bilbao

Froome narrows gap on Cobo to take first grand tour stage win

Wiggins and Froome in ‘enemy territory’ on stage 17

Confusion reigns in Vuelta stage as riders tackle roundabout wrong way

Sky uses rest day to regroup before final leg of Vuelta

Wiggins upbeat despite losing Vuelta lead on Angliru

Crunch time for Wiggins and Froome in Vuelta

Wiggins says he will give it 100 per cent to defend Vuelta lead

Vuelta tackles unknown mountain top finish today

Froome: “This lead is a big milestone”

Wiggins in Vuelta: “We’re in an amazing position”

Dan Martin delighted with King of the Mountains jersey

Sky dominates in Vuelta a Espana

Martin delighted with first ever grand tour stage win

Wiggins: A fantastic finish

Interview: Wiggins looks ahead of crucial three days of Vuelta

Farrar taken to hospital after Vuelta crash

Arvesen quits Vuelta with crash injuries

Anton suffers again but Rodriguez becomes Spain’s top contender

Wiggins pleased with strong ride in Spanish sierras

Cavendish abandons Vuelta a Espana

Vuelta a Espana 2011: Teams, riders, start list
Vuelta a Espana 2011: Who’s riding?
Vuelta a Espana 2011 team list

Vuelta a Espana 2011
: Stage reports

Stage 21: Froome and Wiggins finish on Vuelta podium

Stage 20: Bennati wins Vuelta stage 20 as Cobo keeps slim lead over Sky’s Froome

Stage 19: Anton takes win on Basque home soil as Cobo foils Froome

Stage 18: Gavazzi salvages poor Vuelta for Lampre as Cobo enjoys trouble-free day

Stage 17: Froome wins Vuelta stage 17 but can’t unseat Cobo from race lead

Stage 16: Haedo wins confusing stage 16 finish in Vuelta

Stage 15: Wiggins loses race lead as Cobo stakes claim for overall on Angliru

Stage 14: Taaramae takes stage as Wiggins puts time into rivals

Stage 13: Albasini wins Vuelta stage 13 as Wiggins hangs on to lead

Stage 12: Sagan takes second 2011 Vuelta stage win

Stage 11: Wiggins takes overall lead as Moncoutie wins stage

Stage 10: Brit Froome moves into overall Vuelta lead after time trial

Stage nine: Martin wins as Wiggins moves further up GC

Stage eight: Rodriguez wins again to take overall lead

Stage seven: Kittel wins chaotic bunch sprint

Stage six: Sagan takes Vuelta stage win in controversial circumstances

Stage five: Rodriguez takes second win for Katusha but Chavanel holds on

Stage four: Moreno wins first mountain skirmish at Sierra Nevada

Stage three: Lastras solos to stage and takes red jersey

Stage two: Sutton grabs stage win to set things right for Sky

Stage one: Leopard-Trek win opening TTT to put Fuglsang in front

Vuelta a Espana 2011: Photo galleries
By Graham Watson
Stage 21 photo gallery
Stage 20 photo gallery
Stage 19 photo gallery
Stage 18 photo gallery
Stage 17 photo gallery
Stage 16 photo gallery
Stage 15 photo gallery
Stage 14 photo gallery
Stage 13 photo gallery
Stage 12 photo gallery
Stage 11 photo gallery
Stage 10 photo gallery
Stage nine photo gallery
Stage eight photo gallery
Stage seven photo gallery
Stage six photo gallery
Stage five photo gallery
Stage four photo gallery
Stage three photo gallery
Stage two photo gallery
Stage one photo gallery

Vuelta a Espana 2011: TV guide

Vuelta a Espana 2011: ITV4 TV schedule

Vuelta a Espana 2011: British Eurosport TV schedule

ITV to show 2011 Vuelta

Vuelta a Espana: Recent winners
2010 Vincenzo Nibali (Ita)
2009 Alejandro Valverde (Spa)
2008 Alberto Contador (Spa)
2007 Denis Menchov (Rus)
2006 Alexandre Vinokourov (Kaz)
2005 Denis Menchov (Rus)
2004 Roberto Heras (Spa)
2003 Roberto Heras (Spa)
2002 Aitor Gonzalez (Spa)
2001 Angel Casero (Spa)
2000 Roberto Heras (Spa) 

Vuelta a Espana: 2010 top ten
1. Vincenzo Nibali (Ita) Liquigas-Doimo in 87-18-33
2. Ezequiel Mosquera (Spa) Xacobeo-Galicia at 41secs
3. Peter Velits (Svk) HTC-Columbia at 3-02
4. Joaquin Rodriguez (Spa) Katusha at 4-22
5. Frank Schleck (Lux) Saxo Bank at 4-45
6. Xavier Tondo (Spa) Cervelo at 4-54
7. Nicolas Roche (Irl) Ag2r-La Mondiale at 5-05
8. Carlos Sastre (Spa) Cervelo at 6-08
9. Tom Danielson (USA) Garmin-Transitions at 6-18
10. Luis Leon Sanchez (Spa) Caisse d’Epargne at 7-44

Vuelta a Espana 2011: Older news items
Cavendish battles on in summer scorcher in Vuelta
Vuelta heads for first major showdown on Tuesday
Matt Goss first rider to abandon Vuelta
Team Sky’s TTT horror on troublesome course
Dan Martin confident and collected as Vuelta team leader
Pro predictions: Who will win the Vuelta?
HTC-Highroad’s reservations about TTT course
Vuelta team time trial start order
Sky plans early start for Vuelta team time trial recon
Wiggins looking to minimise losses in testing Vuelta TTT
Riders voice support for Hushovd over Vuelta exclusion
Cancellara late to Vuelta after being hospitalised by bee sting
Nibali back for victory again in 2011 Vuelta
Wiggins: “I’m in a great position going into the Vuelta”
Wiggins confirmed as Sky leader for the Vuelta
Freire: It’ll be tough in the Vuelta with Cavendish
Hushovd left out of Vuelta; Dan Martin to lead Garmin-Cervelo
Cavendish and Wiggins on provisional Vuelta start list
Climbers set to dominate in 2011 Vuelta
Millar on 2011 Vuelta: ‘Modern-looking and very challenging”
2011 Vuelta set to return to Angliru and Basque country
Angliru back in 2011 Tour of Spain
Hushovd left out of Vuelta; Martin to lead Garmin-Cervélo

External link

Vuelta a Espana official website