Matthew Bostock and Josie Nelson take British circuit race titles

Bostock and Nelson edge two frenetic circuit races.

SW Pix
(Image credit: SW Pix)

Matthew Bostock (WiV SunGod) took a comfortable victory in the British circuit race this evening ahead of Sam Watson (Groupama-FDJ).

The rider from the Isle of Man had his gear selection perfected in the final lap and unleashed a powerful sprint to beat both Watson and junior rider Joshua Tarling (Wales racing Academy). A widely popular winner in Dumfries, Bostock enjoyed a lap of honour receiving congratulations from other riders. 

Thank you for reading 20 articles this month* Join now for unlimited access

Enjoy your first month for just £1 / $1 / €1

*Read 5 free articles per month without a subscription

Join now for unlimited access

Try first month for just £1 / $1 / €1

Tom Thewlis

Tom has been writing for Cycling Weekly since 2022 and his news stories, rider interviews and features appear both online and in the magazine. 

Since joining the team, he has reported from some of professional cycling's biggest races and events including the Tour de France and the World Championships in Glasgow. He has also covered races elsewhere across the world. 

As well as on the ground reporting, Tom writes race reports from the men's and women's WorldTour and helps with coverage of UK domestic cycling.