Team Sprint

The team sprint sees a team of three riders race against each other over three laps of the track. The first rider gets the trio out of the start gate and up to speed before peeling off after a lap.

The leading rider must complete a lap and swing up in a designated zone 15 metres either side of the finish line. The second rider takes over the pace for the middle lap before the third rider finishes off.

The quickest team over the three laps wins. One false start is allowed but the team must get away cleanly at the second attempt.

The Rio track sprint competitions will begin by teams riding one by one to set a qualifying time.

One team will be eliminated at this stage, and the top eight teams will be drawn against each other for the first round, with the fastest against the eighth fastest, the second versus the seventh and so on.

In this round, both teams take to the track at the same time, starting on opposite sides of the velodrome. The winner of each heat advances to the next round, but it’s the two fastest who compete for gold and silver, with the third and fourth racing for bronze.

Olympic track cycling: Track sprint | Team sprint | Team pursuit | Keirin | Omnium

Olympic schedule (UK times)
Women’s team sprint
Friday August 12
Team sprint qualifying: 8pm-8.14pm
Team sprint first round: 9.17pm-9.28pm

Team sprint finals: 10pm-10.08pm

Men’s team sprint
Thursday 11 August

Team sprint qualification: 8pm-8.16pm
Team sprint first round: 9.10pm-9.23pm
Team sprint finals: 10.21pm-10.29pm

Team GB: Jason Kenny, Callum Skinner, Philip Hindes (men); women’s team did not qualify