Omega - 3, 6 and 9


The omegas are a group of long-chain polyunsaturated fatty acids essential to health. Unlike other nutrients, they can't be synthesised by the body and therefore must be obtained from the diet.

Strictly speaking, there are two essential fatty acids: alpha linolenic acid (omega-3) and linolenic acid (omega-6). Omega-9 is not classed as essential, since it can be synthesised by the body from other fats.

Swipe to scroll horizontally
The government recommends 450mg -900mg of the long-chain EPA and DFA per dayA lower ratio of Omega-6: Omega-3 is beneficialThe ratio in Western diets is close to 10:1 We evolved on a ratio of 1:1

Thank you for reading 20 articles this month* Join now for unlimited access

Enjoy your first month for just £1 / $1 / €1

*Read 5 free articles per month without a subscription

Join now for unlimited access

Try first month for just £1 / $1 / €1

Founded in 1891, Cycling Weekly and its team of expert journalists brings cyclists in-depth reviews, extensive coverage of both professional and domestic racing, as well as fitness advice and 'brew a cuppa and put your feet up' features. Cycling Weekly serves its audience across a range of platforms, from good old-fashioned print to online journalism, and video.