Team Sprint podium

The British domination of the sprint events at the Sydney World Cup continued on Sunday with Great Britain trio of Ross Edgar, Craig MacLean and Chris Hoy storming to victory in the Team Sprint event.

The Great Britain team set a time of 44.286 seconds for the three laps, beating Holland, who set a time of 44.511. British trade team Science in Sport trio of Matt Crampton, Jason Queally and Jamie Staff, who were third in a time of 44.873.

In the other events on the final day of racing, Russians Mikhail Ignatiev and Nikolai Trussov won the Madison with a total of 22 points ahead of Denmark?s Michael Morkov and Alex Rasmussen who finished with 17 points. China?s Shuang Guo won the women?s keirin but Victoria Pendleton failed to make the final after finishing last in the first round and third in the repechage. The women?s scratch race was won by Holland?s Vera Koedooder.

The next round of the track World Cup is in Moscow between December 15-17, where Britain's pursuit squad will be out in force.

Photo from

Thank you for reading 20 articles this month* Join now for unlimited access

Enjoy your first month for just £1 / $1 / €1

*Read 5 free articles per month without a subscription

Join now for unlimited access

Try first month for just £1 / $1 / €1