Cervelo take charge in Tour de l'Aude as Bruin wins stage four

Tour de l Aude 2009 logo

Nicole Cooke sprinted to second spot in the fourth stage of the Tour de l?Aude to Castelnaudary.

A four-woman break featuring Cooke (Vision 1), Marianne Vos (DSB Bank) and two Cervelo riders, Claudia Hausler and Regina Bruin, forged a winning gap of more than two minutes over their seven original breakaway companions to put Bruin in the leader?s yellow jersey.

The Cervelo duo pressed hard in the closing kilometres to maximise their lead, leaving Cooke and Vos to fight out the sprint, but it was the World cyclo-cross champion from Holland who had the legs at the finish.

The Cervelo Test Team had started the 109km stage at a high pace but that did not deter double stage-winner Ina-Yoko Teutenberg from a solo breakaway that gained a maximum of over three minutes.

Teutenberg spent 70km at the head of affairs before the Nurnberger team of race leader Amber Neben brought her back into the fold.

?Cervelo have now got the race in their hands and it will be interesting to see how it is played out,? said Vision 1 team manager Stefan Wyman.

Cooke has now moved up to fourth on general classification. ?She is certainly well into the top ten now, so that is pretty good,? said Wyman. ?And the team protected Vicki Whitlaw in her intermediate sprints jersey, so she has extended her lead in that.?

Briton Emma Pooley remains in the lead of the mountains classification as the ten day tour now moves into the Pyrenees. The next few days' climbs should shake up the overall further still.


Stage four: Castelnaudary-Castelnaudary, 109km in 2-55-13

1. Marianne Vos (Ned) DSB Bank

2. Nicole Cooke (Gbr) Vision 1

3. Claudia Hausler (Ger) Cervelo at 3secs

4. Regina Bruin (Ned) Cervelo at 4secs

5. Emma Johansson (Swe) Red Sun at 2mins 10secs

6. Noëmie Cantele (Ita) Bigla all same time

7. Kristin Armstrong (USA) Cervelo

8. Tina Liebig (Ger) DSB Bank

9. Trixi Worrack (Ger) Nurnberger Versicherrung

10. Susanne Ljunggskog (Swe) Flexpoint


16. Lizzie Armitstead (Gbr) Lotto Belisol

17. Nikki Harris (Gbr) GB

19. Catherine Hare Williamson (Gbr) Fenixs

42. Emma Silversides (Gbr) Lotto Belisol

54. Emma Pooley (Gbr) Cervelo

59. Lucy Martin (Gbr) GB

60. Helen Wyman (Gbr) Vision

65. Katie Colclough (Gbr) GB

69. Leda Cox (Gbr) ESGL93-GSD Gestion

98. Alex Greenfield (Gbr) GB


Gabby Day (Gbr) Vision 1


1. Regina Bruins (Ned) Cervelo

2. Claudia Hausler (Ger) Cervelo at 8secs

3. Marianne Vos (Ned) DSB Bank at 20secs

4. Nicole Cooke (Gbr) Vision at 1min 19secs


Tour de l?Aude Preview

Tour de l?Aude prologue

Tour de l?Aude: Stage 1

Tour de l?Aude: stage two

Tour de l?Aude: stage three

Thank you for reading 20 articles this month* Join now for unlimited access

Enjoy your first month for just £1 / $1 / €1

*Read 5 free articles per month without a subscription

Join now for unlimited access

Try first month for just £1 / $1 / €1