Eeckhout wins opening stage of Ras

FBD Insurance Ras 2009 logo

Niko Eeckhout (An Post-M.Donnelly-Grant Thornton-Sean Kelly) has won the opening stage of the 2009 FBD Insurance Ras in Ireland.

The 2006 Belgian road race champion took the bunch sprint from Britain's Russell Downing (CandiTV-Marshalls Pasta) in Wexford. Australian Nicholas Walker (Cinelli-Down Under) completed the podium positions in third.

Eeckhout will wear the yellow race leader's jersey going in to Monday's 178km stage from Wexford to Cobh. The UCI 2.2-ranked race comprises of eight stages running from Sunday May 17 to Sunday May 24.

Stage one: Kilcullen - Wexford, 125km
1. Niko Eeckhout (Belgium) An Post-M.Donnelly-Grant Thornton-Sean Kelly in 2-53-10

2. Russell Downing (GB) Candi TV-Marshalls Pasta

3. Nicholas Walker (Australia) Cinelli-Down Under

4. Daniel Clifford (Ireland) Projector World

5. Jaan Kirsipuu (Norway) Giant-Veolia

6. Joachim Tolles (Germany) Kuota-Indeland

7. Sam Bennett (Ireland) Dan Morrissey

8. Philip Lavery (Ireland) KTM Winning Solutions

9. Ian Wilkinson (GB) Halfords Bike Hut all same time.


FBD Insurance Ras: The Big Preview


Official race website:

Thank you for reading 20 articles this month* Join now for unlimited access

Enjoy your first month for just £1 / $1 / €1

*Read 5 free articles per month without a subscription

Join now for unlimited access

Try first month for just £1 / $1 / €1

Nigel Wynn
Former Associate Editor

Nigel Wynn worked as associate editor on, he worked almost single-handedly on the Cycling Weekly website in its early days. His passion for cycling, his writing and his creativity, as well as his hard work and dedication, were the original driving force behind the website’s success. Without him, would certainly not exist on the size and scale that it enjoys today. Nigel sadly passed away, following a brave battle with a cancer-related illness, in 2018. He was a highly valued colleague, and more importantly, an exceptional person to work with - his presence is sorely missed.