Gilbert attacks to win Vuelta stage three and take race lead

Philippe Gilbert wins Vuelta a Espana 2010 stage three

Philippe Gilbert (Omega Pharma-Lotto) won stage three of the Vuelta a Espana in Malaga after attacking the bunch on an uphill punch in the final kilometre.

Overall contender Joaquin Rodriguez (Katusha) chased hard after Amstel Gold Race winner Gilbert, but couldn't catch the Belgian. However, he did distance the other favourites, earning valuable seconds in the fight for the red leader's jersey. Igor Anton (Euskaltel) came across the line in third, with Ireland's Nicolas Roche (Ag2r) in sixth.

Thank you for reading 20 articles this month* Join now for unlimited access

Enjoy your first month for just £1 / $1 / €1

*Read 5 free articles per month without a subscription

Join now for unlimited access

Try first month for just £1 / $1 / €1

Nigel Wynn
Former Associate Editor

Nigel Wynn worked as associate editor on, he worked almost single-handedly on the Cycling Weekly website in its early days. His passion for cycling, his writing and his creativity, as well as his hard work and dedication, were the original driving force behind the website’s success. Without him, would certainly not exist on the size and scale that it enjoys today. Nigel sadly passed away, following a brave battle with a cancer-related illness, in 2018. He was a highly valued colleague, and more importantly, an exceptional person to work with - his presence is sorely missed.