Salford Nocturne

Ian Wilkinson used his strength and no-nonsense riding style to take victory in the first ever Salford Nocturne on Saturday in front of a good crowd that turned out in force to catch a glimpse of cycling's Olympic heroes.

Geraint Thomas and Ed Clancy, gold medallists in the team pursuit, made their way to the start-line and were joined at the front by Craig MacLean and Rob Hayles.

Thank you for reading 20 articles this month* Join now for unlimited access

Enjoy your first month for just £1 / $1 / €1

*Read 5 free articles per month without a subscription

Join now for unlimited access

Try first month for just £1 / $1 / €1

Founded in 1891, Cycling Weekly and its team of expert journalists brings cyclists in-depth reviews, extensive coverage of both professional and domestic racing, as well as fitness advice and 'brew a cuppa and put your feet up' features. Cycling Weekly serves its audience across a range of platforms, from good old-fashioned print to online journalism, and video.