Tour of Belgium 2008 st1 Kenny De Haes
(Image credit: LUC CLAESSEN)

The 2008 Tour of Belgium kicked off today in Eeklo with a 180.5 kilometre stage that culminated in a bunch sprint.

Kenny De Haes (Topsport Vlaanderen) hit the line flying to take the stage win and leader's jersey in the five stage, UCI 2.1-ranked race.

Thank you for reading 20 articles this month* Join now for unlimited access

Enjoy your first month for just £1 / $1 / €1

*Read 5 free articles per month without a subscription

Join now for unlimited access

Try first month for just £1 / $1 / €1

Founded in 1891, Cycling Weekly and its team of expert journalists brings cyclists in-depth reviews, extensive coverage of both professional and domestic racing, as well as fitness advice and 'brew a cuppa and put your feet up' features. Cycling Weekly serves its audience across a range of platforms, from good old-fashioned print to online journalism, and video.