Wiggins shows international class with Beaumont Trophy win

Garmin-Slipstream professional Bradley Wiggins showed his British-based peers his international class on Sunday by winning the Beaumont Trophy in dominant fashion.

Wiggins made a rare appearance in domestic road competition at the Premier Calendar round in Northumberland, using it as part of his preparation for the Tour de France in July.

Throughout the race, Wiggins drove the pace and dictated the moves with only a handful of riders able to keep in touch. In the end, Wiggins soloed to the line largely unchallenged, with Russell Downing (CandiTV-Marshalls Pasta) taking the sprint for second ahead of Halfords duo Mark McNally and Ian Wilkinson.

The Beaumont Trophy is part of the Northern Rock Cyclone cycling festival, which also included the Leazes criteriums on Friday and open challenge rides on Saturday.

Beaumont Trophy, 106 miles
1. Bradley Wiggins (Garmin-Slipstream) in 3-59-25
2. Russell Downing (CandiTV-Marshalls Pasta) at 1-41
3. Mark McNally (Halfords Bikehut)
4. Ian Wilkinson (Halfords Bikehut)
5. Dave Clarke (Pendragon-Kalas) all same time
6. Chris Newton (Rapha-Condor) at 2-24
7. Russell Hampton (100% ME) at 2-40
8. Evan Oliphant (Endura) at 2-45
9. Arno van der Zwet (Ruiter Wieterteam) at 2-47
10. Dean Downing (Rapha-Condor) at 3-00


Beaumont Trophy: The Big Preview