Peter Sagan wins Tour of California stage three

Peter Sagan, Brabantse Pijl 2013

The Tour of California wouldn't be the Tour of California without a Peter Sagan stage win, and the Cannondale fastman added another on Tuesday, taking the bunch sprint at the end of stage three.

Sagan looked to have been swamped by his rivals' sprint trains on the wide road running to the line in Santa Clarita, but he somehow curved around Michael Matthews (Orica-GreenEdge) and Tyler Farrar (Garmin-Sharp) find some space and take his ninth stage win in the race.

Thank you for reading 20 articles this month* Join now for unlimited access

Enjoy your first month for just £1 / $1 / €1

*Read 5 free articles per month without a subscription

Join now for unlimited access

Try first month for just £1 / $1 / €1

Nigel Wynn
Former Associate Editor

Nigel Wynn worked as associate editor on, he worked almost single-handedly on the Cycling Weekly website in its early days. His passion for cycling, his writing and his creativity, as well as his hard work and dedication, were the original driving force behind the website’s success. Without him, would certainly not exist on the size and scale that it enjoys today. Nigel sadly passed away, following a brave battle with a cancer-related illness, in 2018. He was a highly valued colleague, and more importantly, an exceptional person to work with - his presence is sorely missed.