Ben Swift, Ian Stannard and Luke Rowe all pull out of British National Road Race Championships

Alex Peters and Andy Fenn will be Team Sky's only representatives in the 2016 British National Road Race Championships

British sprinter Ben Swift will be looking for victory in the People's Choice Classic and flat stages of the Tour Down Under

(Image credit: Watson)

Team Sky's Ben Swift, Ian Stannard and Luke Rowe will not race Sunday's National Road Race Championships in Stockton-on-Tees.

The trio were all on the startlist for the men's race but a knee injury sustained at the Tour de Romandie to Swift continues to rule him out, meaning his wait for national stripes continues.

Thank you for reading 20 articles this month* Join now for unlimited access

Enjoy your first month for just £1 / $1 / €1

*Read 5 free articles per month without a subscription

Join now for unlimited access

Try first month for just £1 / $1 / €1

Chris Marshall-Bell

A freelance sports journalist and podcaster, you'll mostly find Chris's byline attached to news scoops, profile interviews and long reads across a variety of different publications. He has been writing regularly for Cycling Weekly since 2013. In 2024 he released a seven-part podcast documentary, Ghost in the Machine, about motor doping in cycling.

Previously a ski, hiking and cycling guide in the Canadian Rockies and Spanish Pyrenees, he almost certainly holds the record for the most number of interviews conducted from snowy mountains. He lives in Valencia, Spain.