Scott Davies wins British under-23 men’s time trial for third time (video)

Scott Davies makes history with a third consecutive under-23 men's title in the British national time trial championships

Scott Davies made history on Thursday, becoming the first rider in history to claim three under-23 men’s British time trial titles.

Davies (Team Wiggins) of Carmarthen was last rider off in Stockton-on-Tees clocked an impressive time of 44-10.430 to add to his 2014 and 2015 titles.

Tao Geoghagen Hart (Axeon Hagens) took second place having set a time of 44-29.81, with Gabriel Cullaigh (100% ME) completing the podium positions in third place with 44-40.24.

>>> British national time trial preview and start lists

Worryingly for his rivals, Davies is still only 20 and therefore could add to his tally of under-23 wins next year.

The 35.8-kilometre (22.2-mile) course was relatively flat, but with a testing section of corners in Stockton.

All three national time trial titles are being run on Thursday (June 23), with the elite women’s event following the under-23 men. The elite men’s race finishes the day.

Under-23 men's podium, British time trial championships 2016

Under-23 men’s podium, British time trial championships 2016

British time trial national championships 2016: Under-23 men

1. Scott Davies (Team Wiggins) in 44:10.430
2. Tao Geoghagen Hart (Axeon Hagens) at 19 secs
3. Gabriel Cullaigh (100% ME) at 30 secs
4. Ben Hetherington (Planet X-Northside) at 37 secs
5. Thomas Baylis (One Pro Cycling) at 43 secs
6. James Shaw (Lotto-Soudal U23) at 1-01
7. Joseph Fry (Pedal Heaven) at 1-14
8. Jake Kelly (Team Wiggins) at 1-31
9. Mark Stewart (100% ME) at 1-43
10. Christopher Latham (Team Wiggins) at 1-44