Russell Downing out to defend British circuit race title

With no Hannah Barnes racing, there will be a new women's national circuit race champion on Wednesday, July 9

Russell Downing, Tour Series 2014, Jersey

(Image credit: Andy Jones)

By Chris Marshall-Bell

Russell Downing is to defend his National Circuit Championship title on Wednesday (July 9) – but there will be a new women’s winner.

Thank you for reading 20 articles this month* Join now for unlimited access

Enjoy your first month for just £1 / $1 / €1

*Read 5 free articles per month without a subscription

Join now for unlimited access

Try first month for just £1 / $1 / €1

Founded in 1891, Cycling Weekly and its team of expert journalists brings cyclists in-depth reviews, extensive coverage of both professional and domestic racing, as well as fitness advice and 'brew a cuppa and put your feet up' features. Cycling Weekly serves its audience across a range of platforms, from good old-fashioned print to online journalism, and video.