Sam Bennett breaks into early charge to win stage 12 of the Giro d'Italia

Bora-Hansgrohe's Irishman had time to check over his shoulder before putting in a final push

Sam Bennett wins stage 12 of the 2018 Giro d'Italia (Getty Images)

(Image credit: Getty Images)

Sam Bennett (Bora-Hansgrohe) won stage 12 of the Giro d'Italia 2018, taking it upon himself to launch an early sprint which swept up two last minute breakaways on the pit lane finish of Imola motor racing circuit.

The 213 kilometre stage from Osimo to Imola was almost entirely flat, with only a minor blip at the mid distance and a climb which reached its peak with under 10km to go.

Thank you for reading 20 articles this month* Join now for unlimited access

Enjoy your first month for just £1 / $1 / €1

*Read 5 free articles per month without a subscription

Join now for unlimited access

Try first month for just £1 / $1 / €1