Giro d’Italia 2021 route: Tough gravel stage, Monte Zoncolan summit finish and final time trial in Milan for 104th edition 

The organisers of the Italian Grand Tour have confirmed the full route for this year’s edition 

The full route for the Giro d’Italia 2021 has been announced, featuring a tough gravel stage, a Monte Zoncolan summit finish and a final time trial to decide the winner in Milan. 

This year’s edition of the Italian Grand Tour, scheduled to run from May 8-30, will total 3,450km of racing over 21 stages in the central and northern regions of the nation. 

Starting with a short 9km individual time trial in Turin, with chances for the sprinters and puncheurs in the opening week before the first uphill finish on stage four to Sestola.  

We will also see some huge climbing stages early in the race, with stages six, eight and nine both featuring more than 3,000 metres of altitude gain. 

Notable climbs in this year’s race will include the Monte Zoncolan from the Sutrio side on stage 14, which last featured in the 2003 edition of the race. 

Riders will also have to tackle the San Bernadino pass, a new finish on the Alpe di Mera in Valsesia (a first for the Giro) and Alpe di Motta.  

The race will also cross into neighbouring Slovenia, a nation suddenly at the forefront of cycling thanks to Primož Roglič (Jumbo-Visma) and Tadej Pogačar (UAE Team Emirates). 

Week one

As previously announced, Turin and the Piemonte region will host the Grande Partenza of the 104th Giro d’Italia for the first time in 10 years. 

After the opening 9km TT in the host city, the opportunity will pass to the sprinters and the puncheurs on stages two and three. 

Then it’s onto the first uphill finish of the race on stage four, starting in Piacenza and finishing at Sestola. 

After another chance for the sprinters on day five, stage six will be a major climbing day with 3,400 metres of elevation gain, taking the peloton from the Frasassi Caves to Ascoli Piceno. 

Stage seven will be sprint day before two back-to-back climbing days on stages eight and nine, each featuring more than 3,000m of ascending. 

Finally it’s a chance for the breakaway or the sprinters on day 10, before the first of the rest days. 

Week two

As racing resumes, stage 11 will be an exciting spectacle from Pergui to Montalcino, starting with an undulating fourth have, before a 35km-long gravel section in the second section. 

Stage 12 will be a major climbing day in memory of Gino Bartali and Alfredo Martini, followed by a bunch sprint on stage 13. 

Then it’s the big one – the Monte Zoncolan finish on stage 14. 

The second week will close out with a punchers day on stage 14, followed by a major climbing stage in the Dolomites the following day, featuring the Fedaia Pass, the Pordoi Pass and the Giau Pass. 

Final week

After the second and final rest day, the peloton will head straight into the mountains from Canazei to Sega di Ala (a new uphill finish for the Giro), with the stage also featuring the San Valentino Pass. 

Stage 18 could be decisive with attacks expected in the final kilometres on the Oltreop Pavese hills. 

Then stage 19 will feature a new summit finish on Alpe di Mera, with 3,700m of elevation gain spread across the course.

Stage 20 will be a huge climbing day with 4,800m of climbing on the San Bernadino Pass, the Spluga pass (both above 2,000m above sea level) before the finish on Alpe di Motta.

The race will then close out with a 29.4km-loing final time trial in Milan, before the winner of the 2021 Giro d’Italia trophy is crowned.  

Giro d’Italia route 2021

Stage one, Sat May 8 Turin – Turin 9km ITT
Stage two, Sun May 9 Stupinigi – Novara 173km flat
Stage three, Mon May 10 Biella – Canale 187km hilly
Stage four, Tues May 11

Piacenza – Sestola

185km hilly
Stage five, Wed May 12 Modena – Cattolica 171km flat
Stage six, Thurs May 13 Grotte di Frassassi – Ascoli Piceno 150km mountain
Stage seven, Fri May 14 Notaresco – Temoli 178km flat
Stage eight, Sat May 15 Foggia – Guardia Sanframondi 173km mountain
Stage nine, Sun May 16 Castel di Sangro – Campo Felice 160km mountain
Rest day, Mon May 17
Stage 10, Tues May 18 L’Aquila – Foligno 140km hilly
Stage 11, Wed May 19 Perugia – Montalcino 163km hilly
Stage 12, Thurs May 20 Siena -Bagno di Romagna 209km hilly
Stage 13, Fri May 21 Ravenna – Verona 197km flat
Stage 14, Sat May 22 Cittadella – Monte Zoncolan 205km mountain
Stage 15, Sun May 23 Grado – Gorizia 145km hilly
Rest day, Mon May 24
Stage 16, Tues May 25 Sacille – Cortina d’Ampezzo 212km mountain
Stage 17, Wed May 26 Canazei – Sega di Ala 193km mountain
Stage 18, Thurs May 27 Rovereto – Stradella 228km flat
Stage 19, Fri May 28 Abbiategrasso – Alpe di Mera Valsesia 178km mountain
Stage 20, Sat May 29 Verbania – Alpe Motta 165km mountain
Stage 21, Sun May 30 Senago – Milan 29.4km ITT

Giro d’Italia 2021 stages

Stage one, Turin – Turin, 9km ITT

A day that will likely see world time trial champion, Filippo Ganna (Ineos Grenadiers), take the stage and go into pink for the second time in his career.

Stage two, Stupinigi – Novara, 173km

Stage two will likely see the current leader of the race keep pink, but it should be the first mass sprint with a potential for Caleb Ewan (Lotto-Soudal) to get his first Grand Tour stage of the year as he looks to get at least one in the Giro, Tour de France and Vuelta a España.

Stage three, Biella – Canale, 187km

The third stage opens up for the punchers and a possible change of overall leader. A stage that looks tailor made for Diego Ulissi (UAE Team Emirates), whether he will be back from his health scare break in time is another thing entirely.

Stage four, Piacenza to Sestola (186km)

Stage five, Modena to Cattolica (171km)

Stage six, Grotte di Frasassi to Ascoli Piceno (San Giacomo) (150km)

Stage seven Notaresco to Temoli (178km)

Stage eight, Foggia to Guardia Sanframondi (173km)

Stage nine, Castel di Sangro to Campo Felice (Rocca di Cambio (160km)

Stage 10, L’Aquila to Foligno (140km)

Stage 11, Perugia to Montalcino (Brunello di Montalcino Wine Stage) (163km)

Stage 12, Siena to Bagno di Romagna (209km)

Stage 13, Ravenna to Verona (197km)

Stage 14, Cittadella to Monte Zoncolan (205km)

Stage 15, Grado to Gorizia (145km)

Stage 16, Sacille to Cortina d’Ampezzo (212km)

Stage 17, Canazei to Sega di Ala (193km)

Stage 18, Rovereto to Stradella (228km)

Stage 19, Abbiategrasso to Alpe di Mera (Valsesia) (178km)

Stage 20, Verbania to Alpe Motta (164km)

Stage 21, Senago to Milan (29.4km ITT)