Stefano Oldani victorious on stage 12 of Giro d'Italia in race dominated by the breakaway

The Italian secured his first-ever career victory by winning at his home Grand Tour on the run to Genoa

Stefano Oldani Giro d'Italia
(Image credit: Getty Images)

Stefano Oldani (Alpecin-Fenix) secured his first professional career win with victory on stage 12 of the Giro d'Italia, becoming the second Italian rider in as many days to win at their home Grand Tour. 

Part of a breakaway group formed of three riders, the 24-year-old beat Lorenzo Rota (Intermarché-Wanty-Gobert Matériaux) and Gijs Leemreize (Jumbo-Visma) in a sprint in the closing stages.

Thank you for reading 20 articles this month* Join now for unlimited access

Enjoy your first month for just £1 / $1 / €1

*Read 5 free articles per month without a subscription

Join now for unlimited access

Try first month for just £1 / $1 / €1

Staff Writer

Ryan is a staff writer for Cycling Weekly, having joined the team in September 2021. He first joined Future in December 2020, working across FourFourTwo, Golf Monthly, Rugby World and Advnture's websites, before making his way to cycling. After graduating from Cardiff University with a degree in Journalism and Communications, Ryan earned a NCTJ qualification to further develop as a writer.