No British riders at the Giro d'Italia for the second year running

The opening Grand Tour of the year, the Giro d'Italia, will start this Friday without any British riders, for the second consecutive season

Bradley Wiggins wears the maglia rosa in the 2010 Giro d'Italia

(Image credit: Watson)

When the 2016 Giro d'Italia starts in Apeldoorn, the Netherlands, on Friday it will not feature a single British rider for the second year running.

Last year's Italian Grand Tour was the first for 16 years to not feature a single Briton, and this year's race will be the same.

Essex man Alex Dowsett had been on the long list for Movistar's Giro squad, but has had to undergo collarbone surgery and will not be fit to take part. A Giro time trial stage winner in 2013, Dowsett had been eyeing this year's stages against the clock, but will instead be recuperating at home.

>>> Alex Dowsett out of the Giro d’Italia after undergoing collarbone surgery

British WorldTour team Sky has also not selected any British riders in its nine-man roster for the prestigious three-week race. Several of Sky's British riders are coming out of a heavy spring campaign, riding in the concurrently-running Tour of California (May 15-22) or preparing for the Tour de France in July.

Mark Cavendish wins stage 13, Giro d'Italia 2013

Mark Cavendish was the last British rider to win a stage of the Giro d'Italia, in 2013

On Tuesday, Sky confirmed its line-up would consist of Spaniards Mikel Landa, Mikel Nieve and David Lopez; Irish riders Philip Deignan and Nicolas Roche; German Christian Knees; Colombian Sebastian Henao; Italian Elia Viviani; and American Ian Boswell.

Sky is one of two teams in the 2016 Giro to not field any riders from its country of registration: the American Trek-Segafredo team is the other.

>>> Team Sky confirms 2016 Giro d’Italia squad: Mikel Landa to lead

Mark Cavendish and Steve Cummings of the South African Dimension Data squad are also absent this year. Cavendish has won 15 stages of the race in his career.

Cavendish will join the Great Britain men's endurance team at an altitude training camp in Big Bear, California. He will then ride in the Tour of California in mid-May.

In recent years, Cavendish, Bradley Wiggins and David Millar have worn the coveted maglia rosa of Giro race leader. There has never been a British overall winner in its 98 editions.

Watch: Giro d'Italia 2016 route

Great Britain is currently the sixth-ranked nation in the UCI's WorldTour, behind Spain, Australia, Belgium, Colombia and France. The highest-ranked British rider is Ian Stannard (Sky) in 17th place, with Geraint Thomas (Sky) in 20th.

>>> Giro d'Italia 2016: Latest news, reports and info

This year is the 50th anniversary of the first stage victory by a British rider in the Giro d'Italia: Vin Denson won stage nine of the 1966 edition in Campobasso.

Cavendish was the last British rider to win a stage of the Giro, having claimed stage 13 of the 2013 edition.

The 2016 Giro d'Italia starts in Apeldoorn, the Netherlands, on Friday May 6 and finishes in Turin on Sunday, May 29.

Thank you for reading 20 articles this month* Join now for unlimited access

Enjoy your first month for just £1 / $1 / €1

*Read 5 free articles per month without a subscription

Join now for unlimited access

Try first month for just £1 / $1 / €1