Nairo Quintana stamps authority on Vuelta a España with mountain stage win

Colombian Nairo Quintana wins first high mountain stage and takes overall lead in the 2016 Vuelta a España

Nairo Quintana on his way to winning stage 10 of the 2016 Vuelta a España

(Image credit: Graham Watson)

Nairo Quintana (Movistar) took control of the 2016 Vuelta a España on Monday, winning the high mountain stage 10 to Lagos de Covadonga and moving back into the overall race lead.

The Colombian finished 24 seconds ahead of Robert Gesink (LottoNL-Jumbo), the last survivor of the break of the day, and 25 seconds ahead of Chris Froome (Sky), who recovered dramatically having been dropped further down the climb.

Thank you for reading 20 articles this month* Join now for unlimited access

Enjoy your first month for just £1 / $1 / €1

*Read 5 free articles per month without a subscription

Join now for unlimited access

Try first month for just £1 / $1 / €1

Stephen Puddicombe is a freelance journalist for Cycling Weekly, who regularly contributes to our World Tour racing coverage with race reports, news stories, interviews and features. Outside of cycling, he also enjoys writing about film and TV - but you won't find much of that content embedded into his CW articles.