Mark Cavendish and Bradley Wiggins, Team Sky 2012 launch

British-based WorldTour outfit Tem Sky has officially confirmed its 28-man roster for the 2012 season.

Ten Brits are included in the list that also includes riders from Australia, Germany, Colombia, Italy, Canada, Norway, Austria, Sweden and Belarus.

The British contingent comprises Mark Cavendish, Bradley Wiggins, Chris Froome, Geraint Thomas, Alex Dowsett, Jeremy Hunt, Peter Kennaugh, Luke Rowe, Ian Stannard and Ben Swift.

"With Mark Cavendish joining riders like Bradley Wiggins, Geraint Thomas and Edvald Boasson Hagen, we have a hugely talented squad of riders with proven ability at the very highest level of our sport," said team principal David Brailsford.

"We made great strides in 2011, in what was our second season as a WorldTour team. The challenge for all of us is to build on those achievements and become an even stronger and more successful team.

"The next ten months will be a huge, but exceptionally exciting challenge. We will be looking to compete on every day of every race and continue the momentum the team has created in 2011. These are exciting times for Team Sky and we can't wait for the season to start."

Cavendish has said that he is looking forward to starting the season with Sky, having signed from the now defunct HTC-Highroad team in the autumn.

"I could not be more excited about the coming season," said the Manxman. "In many ways it has felt like coming home, by joining Team Sky. I've grown up with many of the riders and management and they have shown in just two years how far they have come. It is a hugely professional set up and arguably the strongest team in the world. It is definitely a team that will win races." 

Wiggins answered some of the recent comments regarding a perceived conflict between his aim for the Tour de France overall and Cavendish's defence of the green jersey of points classification winner.

"If there is one thing this team is known for already it's that we have ambition," said Wiggins. "With Mark Cavendish joining the team we are ready to target sprints and GC in the same race and that is hugely exciting. There is nothing we like more than someone saying it can't be done!" 

Sky start the 2012 WorldTour season at the Tour Down Under in Australia over January 17-22. They are represented at the six-day race by Boasson Hagen, Thomas, Sutton, Dowsett, Rogers, Pate and Hayman.

Mark Cavendish (left), Bradley Wiggins (centre) and Luke Rowe (right)

Looking comfy: Mark Cavendish and Bradley Wiggins (right)

Team Sky 2012

Davide Appollonio (Ita)

Michael Barry (Can)

Edvald Boasson Hagen (Nor)

Mark Cavendish (GBr)

Alex Dowsett (GBr)

Bernhard Eisel (Aut)

Juan Antonio Flecha (Spa)

Chris Froome (GBr)

Mathew Hayman (Aus)

Sergio Henao (Col)

Jeremy Hunt (GBr)

Peter Kennaugh (GBr)

Christian Knees (Ger)

Thomas Löfkvist (Swe)

Lars-Petter Nordhaug (Nor)

Danny Pate (USA)

Richie Porte (Aus)

Salvatore Puccio (Ita)

Michael Rogers (Aus)

Luke Rowe (GBr)

Ian Stannard (GBr)

Kanstantsin Siutsou (Blr)

Chris Sutton (Aus)

Ben Swift (GBr)

Geraint Thomas (GBr)

Rigoberto Urán (Col)

Bradley Wiggins (GBr)

Xabier Zandio (Spa) 

Related links

Tour Down Under 2012: Cycling Weekly's coverage index

Thank you for reading 20 articles this month* Join now for unlimited access

Enjoy your first month for just £1 / $1 / €1

*Read 5 free articles per month without a subscription

Join now for unlimited access

Try first month for just £1 / $1 / €1