Organisers of the Tour of California have released the names of the 16 teams that will be lining up for the North American stage race over May 13-20, 2012.

The list includes eight WorldTour-level teams, four Professional Continental registered teams and four Continental-level outfits.

Last year’s race was won by Chris Horner (RadioShack), who is currently leading Tirreno-Adriatico in Italy.

Horner’s new team, RadioShack-Nissan, will come up against the team of his former colleague and 2011 Tour of California runner-up Levi Leipheimer – Omega Pharma-QuickStep.

British team Sky are not present at this year’s race.

UCI ProTeams
BMC Racing Team (USA)
Rabobank (NED)
Garmin-Barracuda (USA)
RadioShack-Nissan-Trek (LUX)
Liquigas-Cannondale (ITA)
Omega Pharma-QuickStep (BEL)
Ag2r La Mondiale (FRA)
GreenEdge (AUS)

UCI Professional Continental Teams
Team Spidertech Powered By C10 (CAN)
UnitedHealthcare (USA)
Project 1t4i (NED)
Colombia-Coldeportes (COL)

UCI Continental Teams
Team Optum Presented By Kelly Benefit Strategies (USA)
Bissell Pro Cycling (USA)
Team Exergy (USA)
Bontrager Livestrong (USA)