Vasil Kiryienka solos to win Vuelta stage 18 as Chris Horner gains time

Vasil Kiryienka wins, Vuelta a Espana 2013, stage 18

Sky's Vasil Kiryienka took a fine solo victory atop the short but steep Peña Cabarga climb this afternoon as Chris Horner (RadioShack-Trek) moved to within three seconds of race leader Vincenzo Nibali (Astana).

Kiryienka attacked from a breakaway group of 15 riders with 46 kilometres remaining, and managed to maintain enough of a gap over the other escapees to beat Chris Anker Sorensen (Saxo-Tinkoff) by 28 seconds, with Australian Adam Hansen (Lotto-Belisol) taking third 1-18 down.

Thank you for reading 20 articles this month* Join now for unlimited access

Enjoy your first month for just £1 / $1 / €1

*Read 5 free articles per month without a subscription

Join now for unlimited access

Try first month for just £1 / $1 / €1