Where: Italy
When: March 10-16 2021
Rank: UCI WorldTour

The 2019 Tirreno-Adriatico peloton (Photo by Tim de Waele/Getty Images)

The 2021 edition of Tirreno-Adriatico will see the week long stage race enter its 56th year.

In 2020, Simon Yates (Mitchelton-Scott) managed to do what his brother, Adam, missed out on by one second a year previous by winning the overall title ahead of Geraint Thomas (Ineos Grenadiers) and Rafał Majka (then Bora-Hansgrohe)

The 2019 win went to Primož Roglič (Jumbo Visma), the Slovenian took victory on the final day with a margin of just one second ahead of Adam Yates (then Mitchelton-Scott).

In 2018, the win was Michał Kwiatkowski’s, whilst 2017’s victor was Nairo Quintana who also won in 2015. Both Alberto Contador and Vincenzo Nibali have two wins to their names, too.

Tirreno-Adriatico often serves as a preparation ground for those aiming for Milan-San Remo glory as well as those riders thinking of taking home the maglia rosa at the Giro d’Italia in May, but the Covid-19 pandemic pushed the race back to September, with the Giro in October and Milan-San Remo in August.

Tirreno-Adriatico usually runs alongside Paris-Nice, this of course was different for the rejigged 2020 season with Tirreno running in August alongside the Tour de France.

The race has slotted nicely back into it’s original slot for the 2021 season.

Tirreno-Adriatico: Recent winners

2020 Simon Yates (GBr)
2019 Primož Roglič (Slo)
2018 Michał Kwiatkowski (Pol)
2017 Nairo Quintana (Col)
2016 Greg Van Avermaet (Bel)
2015 Nairo Quintana (Col)
2014 Alberto Contador (Esp)
2013 Vincenzo Nibali (Ita)
2012 Vincenzo Nibali (Ita)
2011 Cadel Evans (Aus)
2010 Stefano Garzelli (Ita)
2009 Michele Scarponi (Ita)
2008 Fabian Cancellara (Sui)

Tirreno-Adriatico 2021 route

The full details of the Tirreno-Adriatico 2020 route are not yet available, but will appear here…

Stage 1, March 10
Stage 2, March 11
Stage 3, March 12
Stage 4, March 13
Stage 5, March 14
Stage 6, March 15
Stage 7, March 16

Key info: TV guide | Start list | Route guide
Previous editions: 2016 | 2015 | 2014 | 2013 | 2012
Key riders: Vincenzo Nibali | Greg Van Avermaet | Nairo Quintana | Peter Sagan