Mads Würtz Schmidt takes victory from the breakaway on stage six of Tirreno-Adriatico 2021

The break managed to hold off the peloton to fight it out for victory

(Image credit: Getty Images)

Mads Würtz Schmidt took victory on stage six of Tirreno-Adriatico 2021, out-sprinting the rest of his breakaway partners after the break managed to hold off the peloton all the way to the line.

Würtz Schmidt (Israel Start-Up Nation) was the fastest and the strongest out of the five riders in the original break with Brent Van Moer (Lotto-Soudal) and Simone Velasco (Gazprom-RusVelo) filling the remaining podium slots at the finish.

The escape took a while to go at the start of the stage and the pace was high throughout, but the six-man break worked well together and managed to hold off the peloton by over a minute, with Würtz Schmidt able to triumph in the sprint.

Behind the peloton was led in by former Belgian champion, Tim Merlier (Alpecin-Fenix) ahead of Davide Ballerini (Deceuninck - Quick-Step) and Elia Viviani (Cofidis).

Tadej Pogačar (UAE Team Emirates) holds onto the overall lead by 1-15 over Wout van Aert (Jumbo-Visma) going into the final stage.

>>> Bradley Wiggins: ‘Freeman case stinks to high heaven’

How it happened

Stage six of Tirreno-Adriatico 2021 started in the town of Castelraimondo before heading over a few lumps and bumps on the roads then finishing on the coast at Lido di Fermo where the race took on laps of the finishing circuit, finishing after 169km.

The break went away with Würtz Schmidt, Velasco, Jan Bakelants (Intermarché-Wanty-Gobert), Emils Liepins (Trek-Segafredo), Van Moer and Nelson Oliveira (Movistar Team) and got a maximum gap of around seven minutes.

Back in the bunch the pace was high all day with Deceuninck - Quick-Step, UAE Team Emirates, Total Direct Energie, and Alpecin-Fenix all working hard for their leaders and sprinters which saw the time gap start to tick down.

With 50km to go, though, Eolo-Kometa came to the front to try and drag the break back after missing it, as the gap continued to drop.

21km to go saw a mechanical for Mikel Landa (Bahrain-Victorious) with his whole team sitting up and waiting for the rider who is third overall.

Meanwhile, the break’s advantage was going up as the peloton seemed to give up the chase, with the gap rising to 2-46 with 20km to go. Stefan Küng (Groupama-FDJ) went on the attack moments later to try and bridge to the riders at the head of the race.

UAE Team Emirates returned to the front with 15km to go along with Cofidis, Movistar and DSM, but the gap was still over two minutes to the break.

>>> Mathieu van der Poel’s dad says Tirreno-Adriatico solo ride was ‘his best race ever’

Oliveira started drilling the pace in the break with 9km to go as they hit the 2km climb on the final lap of the finishing circuit, dropping the Latvian sprinter, Liepins. Further back Küng was reeled in by the chasing peloton.

As Küng was caught, Natnael Tesfatsion (Androni Giocattoli-Sidermec) attacked along with Luxembourgish champion Kevin Geniets (Groupama-FDJ) with 8km to go with a 1-50 gap to close, but they were brought back with 2.5km to go.

The break made it to the line with Oliveira opening up the sprint early but it was Würtz Schmidt who came over the top holding off Van Moer and Velasco to take his first victory on the road that wasn't a time trial.

Pogačar holds onto the overall lead by 1-15 over Van Aert going into the final stage time trial around San Benedetto del Tronto.


Tirreno-Adriatico 2021, stage six: Castelraimondo - Lido di Fermo (169km)

1. Mads Würtz Schmidt (Den) Israel Start-Up Nation, in 3-42-09

2. Brent Van Moer (Bel) Lotto-Soudal

3. Simone Velasco (Ita) Gazprom-RusVelo

4. Jan Bakelants (Bel) Intermarché-Wanty-Gobert Matériaux

5. Nelson Oliveira (Por) Movistar Team, all at same time

6. Emils Liepins (Lat) Trek-Segafredo, at 25 seconds

7. Tim Merlier (Bel) Alpecin-Fenix, at 1-09

8. Davide Ballerini (Ita) Deceuninck - Quick-Step

9. Elia Viviani (Ita) Cofidis

10. Max Kanter (Ger) Team DSM, all at same time

General classification after stage six

1. Tadej Pogačar (Slo) UAE Team Emirates, in 26-24-59

2. Wout van Aert (Bel) Team Jumbo-Visma, at 1-15

3. Mikel Landa (Esp) Bahrain Victorious, at 3-00

4. Egan Bernal (Col) Ineos Grenadiers, at 3-30

5. Matteo Fabbro (Ita) Bora-Hansgrohe, at 3-54

6. Tim Wellens (Bel) Lotto-Soudal, at 4-30

7. João Almeida (Por) Deceuninck - Quick-Step, at 4-42

8. Romain Bardet (Fra) Team DSM, at 5-03

9. Vincenzo Nibali (Ita) Trek-Segafredo, at 5-54

10. Simon Yates (GBr) Team BikeExchange, at 6-58

Thank you for reading 10 articles this month* Join now for unlimited access

Enjoy your first month for just £1 / $1 / €1

*Read 5 free articles per month without a subscription

Join now for unlimited access

Try first month for just £1 / $1 / €1

Hi, I'm one of Cycling Weekly's content writers for the web team responsible for writing stories on racing, tech, updating evergreen pages as well as the weekly email newsletter. Proud Yorkshireman from the UK's answer to Flanders, Calderdale, go check out the cobbled climbs!

I started watching cycling back in 2010, before all the hype around London 2012 and Bradley Wiggins at the Tour de France. In fact, it was Alberto Contador and Andy Schleck's battle in the fog up the Tourmalet on stage 17 of the Tour de France.

It took me a few more years to get into the journalism side of things, but I had a good idea I wanted to get into cycling journalism by the end of year nine at school and started doing voluntary work soon after. This got me a chance to go to the London Six Days, Tour de Yorkshire and the Tour of Britain to name a few before eventually joining Eurosport's online team while I was at uni, where I studied journalism. Eurosport gave me the opportunity to work at the world championships in Harrogate back in the awful weather.

After various bar jobs, I managed to get my way into Cycling Weekly in late February of 2020 where I mostly write about racing and everything around that as it's what I specialise in but don't be surprised to see my name on other news stories.

When not writing stories for the site, I don't really switch off my cycling side as I watch every race that is televised as well as being a rider myself and a regular user of the game Pro Cycling Manager. Maybe too regular.

My bike is a well used Specialized Tarmac SL4 when out on my local roads back in West Yorkshire as well as in northern Hampshire with the hills and mountains being my preferred terrain.