Where: Italy

When: March 10-16 2021

Rank: UCI WorldTour

The 2019 Tirreno-Adriatico peloton (Photo by Tim de Waele/Getty Images)

The 2019 Tirreno-Adriatico peloton (Photo by Tim de Waele/Getty Images)

The 2021 edition of Tirreno-Adriatico will see the week long stage race enter its 56th year.

Tirreno-Adriatico often serves as a preparation ground for those aiming for Milan-San Remo glory as well as those riders thinking of taking home the Maglia Rosa at the Giro d'Italia in May.

The race known as 'the race of the two seas' takes place in mid March alongside Paris-Nice in France, both serving as preparation races for the Spring Classics and Grand Tours alike.

The traditional route would start on the west coast of Italy with a team time trial, but that has changed in the last couple of years to accommodate the sprinters.

After that the race will get progressively hilly with at least one big mountains stage before the hills start to flatten out later into the race finishing in San Benedetto del Tronto for the traditional individual time trial, usually 10km long, but in 2021 the route has been changed slightly and is now 11.1km long.

Last year, Simon Yates (Mitchelton-Scott) managed to do what his brother, Adam, missed out on by one second a year previous by winning the overall title ahead of Geraint Thomas (Ineos Grenadiers) and Rafał Majka (then Bora-Hansgrohe)

The 2019 win went to Primož Roglič (Jumbo Visma), the Slovenian took victory on the final day with a margin of just one second ahead of Adam Yates (then Mitchelton-Scott).

In 2018, the win was Michał Kwiatkowski's, whilst 2017's victor was Nairo Quintana who also won in 2015. Both Alberto Contador and Vincenzo Nibali have two wins to their names, too.

Tirreno-Adriatico 2021 route

The full details of the Tirreno-Adriatico 2021 route are now available, see more on our route page.

Stage 1, March 10Lido di Camaiore – Lido di Camaiore156km, flat
Stage 2, March 11Camaiore – Chiusdino226km, hills
Stage 3, March 12Monticiano – Gualdo Tadino189km, hills
Stage 4, March 13Terni – Prati di Tivo148km, mountains
Stage 5, March 14Castellalto – Catelfidaro205km, hills
Stage 6, March 15Castelraimondo – Lido di Fermo169km, flat
Stage 7, March 16San Benedetto del Tronto - San Benedetto del Tronto11.1km, ITT

Tirreno-Adriatico: Recent winners

2020 Simon Yates (GBr)

2019 Primož Roglič (Slo)

2018 Michał Kwiatkowski (Pol)

2017 Nairo Quintana (Col)

2016 Greg Van Avermaet (Bel)

2015 Nairo Quintana (Col)

2014 Alberto Contador (Esp)

2013 Vincenzo Nibali (Ita)

2012 Vincenzo Nibali (Ita)

2011 Cadel Evans (Aus)

2010 Stefano Garzelli (Ita)

2009 Michele Scarponi (Ita)

2008 Fabian Cancellara (Sui)

Key info: TV guide | Start list | Route guide

Previous editions: 2016 | 2015 | 2014 | 2013 | 2012

Key riders: Vincenzo Nibali | Greg Van Avermaet | Nairo Quintana | Peter Sagan