Milan - San Remo

Milan San Remo coverage from Cycling Weekly, with up to date race results, rider profiles and news and reports.

Matej Mohoric winning Milan-San Remo 2022
(Image credit: Getty Images)

Milan-San Remo 2024: Key details

Swipe to scroll horizontally
Date16 March 2024Row 0 - Cell 2
Total distance290km (185 miles)Row 1 - Cell 2
Number of stages1Row 2 - Cell 2
Start locationMilan, ItalyRow 3 - Cell 2
Finish locationSan Remo, ItalyRow 4 - Cell 2
UCI rankingWorldTourRow 5 - Cell 2
Edition115thRow 6 - Cell 2
Total climbing / elevation gainTBCRow 7 - Cell 2
Last winnerMathieu van der Poel (Ned)Row 8 - Cell 2
TV coverage (UK)TBCRow 9 - Cell 2
TV coverage (US)TBCRow 10 - Cell 2

Where: Northern Italy

When: 16 March 2024

Ranking: UCI WorldTour

Key info: Route and start list | How to watch

Milan-San Remo 2024 is the first Monument of the year, and is one of the most exciting and prestigious races of the season.

Also known as 'La Primavera' due to its spring slot and also as one of the 'sprinters' classics' (the other being Paris-Tours), because of its fastman-friendly finish in San Remo's Via Roma.

It's the first Monument of the season, and was inaugurated in 1907, when it was won by Frenchman Lucien Petit-Breton. Since then it has been won by many of cycling's biggest stars, Eddy Merckx being the most prolific with seven wins between 1966 and 1976. 

It's quite an open race, in that it can be won by a punchy climber, a bunch sprinter, or even a great descender. It's difficult to predict, but the latter is a tactic that worked well for Vincenzo Nibali in 2018, and Matej Mohorič in 2022, who used a dropper seatpost for an edge on that final downhill. 

A women's version – the Primavera Rosa – took place between 1999 to 2005, but was cancelled by the UCI in 2006. It is now looking like there will be a return for this race, with a Milan-San Remo Donne on the horizon.

Official Milan-San Remo website

twitter: @milano_sanremo

Milan-San Remo: Past winners

2023: Mathieu van der Poel (Ned) Alpecin-Deceuninck
2022: Matej Mohorič (Slo) Bahrain Victorious
2021: Jasper Stuyven (Bel) Trek-Segafredo
2020: Wout van Aert (Bel) Jumbo-Visma
2019: Julian Alaphillipe (Fra) Deceuninck–Quick-Step
2018: Vincenzo Nibali (Ita) Bahrain-Merida
2017: Michal Kwiatkowski (Pol) Team Sky
2016: Arnaud Démare (Fra) FDJ
2015: John Degenkolb (Ger) Giant-Alpecin
2014: Alexander Kristoff (Nor) Katusha
2013: Gerald Ciolek (Ger) MTN-Qhubeka
2012: Simon Gerrans (Aus) GreenEdge
2011: Matt Goss (Aus) HTC-Highroad
2010: Oscar Freire (Spa) Rabobank
2009: Mark Cavendish (GBr) Columbia-Highroad
2008: Fabian Cancellara (Sui) CSC