Julian Alaphilippe stuns sprinters to win stage six bunch finish in Tirreno-Adriatico 2019

The Frenchman surprised the likes of Elia Viviani and Peter Sagan to take victory

Julian Alaphilippe takes surprise victory on stage six of Tirreno-Adriatico 2019 (Photo: Yuzuru SUNADA)

(Image credit: Yuzuru SUNADA)

Julian Alaphilippe shocked the sprinters to take victory in a bunch finish on stage six of Tirreno-Adriatico.

The puncheur found himself in prime position in the final 200m on the wheel of his Deceuninck - Quick-Step lead-out man and fired to victory.

Thank you for reading 20 articles this month* Join now for unlimited access

Enjoy your first month for just £1 / $1 / €1

*Read 5 free articles per month without a subscription

Join now for unlimited access

Try first month for just £1 / $1 / €1

Alex Ballinger

Alex Ballinger is editor of BikeBiz magazine, the leading publication for the UK cycle industry, and is the former digital news editor for CyclingWeekly.com. After gaining experience in local newsrooms, national newspapers and in digital journalism, Alex found his calling in cycling, first as a reporter, then as news editor responsible for Cycling Weekly's online news output, and now as the editor of BikeBiz. Since pro cycling first captured his heart during the 2010 Tour de France (specifically the Contador-Schleck battle) Alex covered three Tours de France, multiple editions of the Tour of Britain, and the World Championships, while both writing and video presenting for Cycling Weekly. He also specialises in fitness writing, often throwing himself into the deep end to help readers improve their own power numbers.  Away from the desk, Alex can be found racing time trials, riding BMX and mountain bikes, or exploring off-road on his gravel bike. He’s also an avid gamer, and can usually be found buried in an eclectic selection of books.