Chris Froome misses out on BBC Sports Personality award

Tour de France winner Chris Froome missed out in the 2013 BBC Sports Personality of the Year Award on Sunday. Wimbledon tennis champion Andy Murray scooped the main award with a landslide victory as cycling came away empty handed.

Murray won the live vote held during the ceremony held in Leeds, taking well over half of all of the votes cast. Rugby’s Leigh Halfpenny placed second with champion jockey AP McCoy in third. Froome placed sixth out of 10 in the final voting.

Team Sky had appeared in a shortlist of three for the Team of the Year award, but the British and Irish Lions rugby squad took the category. There was surprisingly no nomination for the world and European championship winning and world record-setting Great Britain women’s team pursuit squad.

Earlier in the evening, 2012 SPOTY winner Sir Bradley Wiggins had appeared on stage and opened the gold envelope to reveal who came third.

Of the other accolades presented during the evening, the Diamond Award went to Sir Alex Ferguson; Coach of the Year was Warren Gatland; Overseas Personality, Sebastian Vettel; Helen Rollason Award, Anne Williams; Young Sports Personality, Amber Hill; and Unsung Heroes, Maggie & Joe Forber. 

BBC Sports Personality 2013: The votes
Andy Murray: 401,470
Leigh Halfpenny: 65,913
AP McCoy: 57,854
Mo Farah: 51,945
Ben Ainslie: 48,140
Chris Froome: 37,343
Hannah Cockroft: 26,151
Christine Ohuruogu: 13,179
Justin Rose: 9,833
Ian Bell: 5,626
Total votes: 717,454