GB team named for London Paralympics

GB paracycling team

Multiple Paralympic champions Sarah Storey, Darren Kenny and Jody Cundy will spearhead Great Britain's 18-rider team for the London Paralympics that was announced today.

Following on from the success of the Beijing Paralympics four years ago - when GB topped the medal table - the cycling squad will be bigger than ever.

Eight of those - Storey, Kenny, Cundy, David Stone, Anthony Kappes, Baney Storey, Aileen McGlynn and Rachel Morris - won gold in 2008, while six of the team will make their Paralympic debuts in London.

Among those are C5 kilo world champion Jon-Allan Butterworth, C1 pursuit world champion Mark Colborne and Londoner Shaun McKeown.

Paralympic debutante Jon-Allan Butterworth

The team's Performance Manager Gareth Sheppard said: "We're taking our largest ever team to the London Games and are looking forward to defending the many titles won in Beijing.

"It'll be tough trying to equal 17 gold medals and our athletes realise the expectation on their shoulders. Having the whole of the country behind them will really help us and we are confident of delivering some world class performances."

The Paralympic cycling events begin on the track at the London Velodrome on August 31, before the road races get underway at Brands Hatch in Kent on September 5.

Great British Paracycling team for 2012 Paralmypics


Jon-Allan Butterworth

Mark Colborne

Jody Cundy

Neil Fachie (w/tandem pilot Barney Storey)

Anthony Kappes (w/tandem pilot Craig Maclean)

Darren Kenny

Shaun McKeown

David Stone

Rik Waddon


Karen Darke

Aileen McGlynn (w/tandem pilot Helen Scott)

Rachel Morris

Sarah Storey

Lora Turnham (w/tandem pilot Fiona Duncan)

Thank you for reading 20 articles this month* Join now for unlimited access

Enjoy your first month for just £1 / $1 / €1

*Read 5 free articles per month without a subscription

Join now for unlimited access

Try first month for just £1 / $1 / €1

Nick Bull is an NCTJ qualified journalist who has written for a range of titles, as well as being a freelance writer at Beat Media Group, which provides reports for the PA Media wire which is circulated to the likes of the BBC and Eurosport. His work at Cycling Weekly predominantly dealt with professional cycling, and he now holds a role as PR & Digital Manager at SweetSpot Group, which organises the Tour of Britain.