Gerald Ciolek sprints to surprise Milan-San Remo win

Gerald Ciolek wins Milan-San Remo 2013

German Gerald Ciolek outsprinted pre-race favourite Peter Sagan and 2008 winner Fabian Cancellara to win a snow-affected Milan-San Remo race that will live long in the memory.

Riding for the Pro Continental MTN Qhubeka team, Ciolek timed his acceleration to perfection to win from a six-man group who broke away in the closing kilometres. Sky's Ian Stannard finished sixth having played a large part in the group's formation.

Thank you for reading 20 articles this month* Join now for unlimited access

Enjoy your first month for just £1 / $1 / €1

*Read 5 free articles per month without a subscription

Join now for unlimited access

Try first month for just £1 / $1 / €1

Nick Bull is an NCTJ qualified journalist who has written for a range of titles, as well as being a freelance writer at Beat Media Group, which provides reports for the PA Media wire which is circulated to the likes of the BBC and Eurosport. His work at Cycling Weekly predominantly dealt with professional cycling, and he now holds a role as PR & Digital Manager at SweetSpot Group, which organises the Tour of Britain.