Diego Rosa wins Milano-Torino from late attack

Astana continues run of victories in Italy with win in 2015 Milano-Torino - one of the oldest races on the calendar

(Image credit: Angelo Carconi)

Diego Rosa (Astana) won Milano-Torino in Italy on Thursday after launching an attack on the race's final climb.

The 26-year-old Italian attacked on the second and final climb of Superga with two and a half kilometres still to race to take the biggest victory of his career.

Thank you for reading 20 articles this month* Join now for unlimited access

Enjoy your first month for just £1 / $1 / €1

*Read 5 free articles per month without a subscription

Join now for unlimited access

Try first month for just £1 / $1 / €1

Nigel Wynn
Former Associate Editor

Nigel Wynn worked as associate editor on CyclingWeekly.com, he worked almost single-handedly on the Cycling Weekly website in its early days. His passion for cycling, his writing and his creativity, as well as his hard work and dedication, were the original driving force behind the website’s success. Without him, CyclingWeekly.com would certainly not exist on the size and scale that it enjoys today. Nigel sadly passed away, following a brave battle with a cancer-related illness, in 2018. He was a highly valued colleague, and more importantly, an exceptional person to work with - his presence is sorely missed.