Fabio Aru wins 2015 Vuelta a España as Degenkolb takes final stage in Madrid

Fabio Aru finished the final stage of the Vuelta a España safely to seal his maiden Grand Tour win as John Degenkolb took the stage

13 September 2015
70th Vuelta a Espana
Stage 20 : Alcala de Henares - Madrid
ARU Fabio (ITA) Astana, Maillot Rojo
Photo : Yuzuru SUNADA

(Image credit: Yuzuru SUNADA)

John Degenkolb (Giant-Alpecin) had to wait a long time for a Grand Tour stage win in 2015 but the German beat a depleted field in Madrid to seal his 10th Vuelta a España win.

Degenkolb looked to have gone too early in the final sprint but found a second wind to hold off Danny Van Poppel (Trek) and Jempy Drucker (BMC) on the line.

Thank you for reading 20 articles this month* Join now for unlimited access

Enjoy your first month for just £1 / $1 / €1

*Read 5 free articles per month without a subscription

Join now for unlimited access

Try first month for just £1 / $1 / €1

Stuart Clarke is a News Associates trained journalist who has worked for the likes of the British Olympic Associate, British Rowing and the England and Wales Cricket Board, and of course Cycling Weekly. His work at Cycling Weekly has focused upon professional racing, following the World Tour races and its characters.